Skip to main content Skip to navigation

About the Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence


The Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence (WATEs) are a well-loved monument to the successful educators within the Warwick teaching community.

The Faculty Awards recognise that much of what makes teaching, learning and assessment excellence flows from a deep understanding of and commitment to our distinctive disciplinary contexts. To celebrate the strength, belonging, and learning that come from solid educational communities WATE introduced two new awards: the Collaborative Award in 2021, and the Community & Culture award in 2022. Both recognise the importance of working together and the power of the social to create the conditions in which all students are empowered to succeed and thrive.

The Award for Postgraduates who Teach celebrate colleagues who contribute so much to the student learning experience and our academic community through their work as Graduate Teaching Assistants.

Key information


All staff who teach or support learning can be nominated for an award - whether they are part-time, non-permanent, or sessional members of staff, including visiting academics and postdocs.

Teams and communities can include students but must also include staff.

Colleagues may only accept a nomination for either WATE or WAPTE (personal tutoring).

The Postgraduates who Teach Award is open to all postgraduates who teach, or those at a very early state in their academic careers e.g., postdocs.


All staff and students can nominate. You can nominate as many people as you like, and for as many awards as you choose, and you do not need to limit nominations to those who are currently teaching you.

Nominations (500 words) are submitted via webform

The nomination form gives you the option to share the text of your nomination with your nominee, but all nominations will remain anonymous, and your name will not be shared or publicised in any way.

Nominations open on 27 November 2023


Nominations by staff and students.

Stage one judging will shortlist six nominees for each Award. [Postgrad award will shortlist 6 nominees per Faculty.]

Shortlisted nominees invited to submit further information about their teaching signed by HoD/equivalent.

Stage 2 judging identifies winners.

Final panel ratifies panel decision.


Nominations open: 27 November 2023.

Nominations close: 9 February 2024.

Nominees informed: w/b 26 February 2024.

Shortlisted nominees informed: 22 March 2024

Nominee statements due:
13 May 2024.

Winners announced:
21 June 2024.