Skip to main content

About Us


October 2017

Group Members 2017-2018

Dr David Burnett Postdoctoral Research Assistant

Alexander Dunn Year 4 PhD Student

Tom Scott Year 4 PhD Student (joint with Professor Pat Unwin)

Lucy McLeod (née Broom) Year 3 PhD Student

James Crosland Year 2 PhD Student

Emily Corlett Year 2 PhD Student (MAS-CDT; main supervisor Professor Steven Brown)

Aron Summer Year 1 PhD Student (MAS-CDT)

Tom Chamberlain Year 1 PhD Student (joint with Dr Volkan Degirmenci)

Matthew Lloyd MSc Student

James Annis MChem Project Student

Katie Everden MChem Project Student

Siân Franklin MChem Project Student

Visitor: Dr Helen Playford Visiting Fellow from ISIS Neutron and Muon Source

Previous Group Members
Dr Adam Hazelwood PhD 2000-2002

Dr Jeroen Spooren PhD 2001-2004

Dr Christopher Wright PhD 2002-2006

Dr Huaixin Yang Royal Society K.C. Wong Fellow 2002-2003

Dr Zoe Lethbridge PDRA 2003-2009

Dr Jennifer Williams PhD 2003-2007

Dr Uday Singh PDRA 2003-2004

Dr David Muñoz-Rojas Visiting PhD Student from ICMAB-CSIC, Barcelona, 2003 & 2004

Dr Dorota Majda British-Council Poland Research Fellow 2006

Dr Mahrez Amri PhD 2006-2010

Dr Deena Modeshia PhD 2006-2010

Dr Helen Playford MChem, PhD & Postdoctoral Fellow 2006-2013

Dr Robin Fisher PhD 2007-2011

Dr Agnieszka Węgrzyn British-Council Poland Research Fellow 2007

Dr Richard Darton PDRA 2008

Dr Kripasindhu Sardar PDRA & KTS Fellow with Johnson Matthey 2008-2011

Dr Alexis Munn PhD 2009-2013

Dr Hilni Harunsani PhD 2009-2013

Dr Anna Carnerup PDRA 2009-2010

Dr Craig Hiley MChem, PhD & Postdoctoral Fellow 2009-2015

Dr Matthew Breeze MChem and PhD 2009-2014

Dr Peter Dunne PDRA 2010-2012

Dr Luke Daniels, PhD 2011-2015

Magdalena Wojciechowska Visiting PhD Student from Jagiellonian University, Poland 2011

Yuanbin Qin Visiting PhD Student from Institute of Physics, CAS, Beijing 2011

Vickie Cheung AS-MIT MSc Student 2011

Dr David Burnett MChem and PhD 2011-2016

Dr Juliana Fonseca de Lima Visiting PhD student from Universidade de São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil 2012 & FAPESP Research Fellow 2013-2014

Kinga Mlekodaj Visiting ERASMUS PhD Student from Jagiellonian University, Poland 2012-2013

Professor Kou-Lin Zhang Visiting Academic from Yangzhou University, China 2013

Akina Carey MSc 2013-2014

Dan Cook Year PhD 2014-2017

Kenny Marshall PhD (joint with Dr Ross Hatton) 2014-2017

Professor Geraldo de Lima Visiting Professor from UFMG, Belo Horizonte, Brazil 2016-2017

Ralentri Pertiwi Visiting Student from Universitas Indonesia 2017