Skip to main content

Academia and gender

5th-6th of June, 2014 *Deadline for registration: Friday, 30th May*

Academia and Gender:

Inducing cultural change to plug the 'leaky pipeline'

The key aim of this event is to examine existing gender equality practices from an institutional and disciplinary perspective and identify worthwhile initiatives that will induce cultural change. Moreover, this event will identify future research priorities in relation to gender equality and how they should be addressed.

This event will also bring together experts from sciences, social sciences, and statistics as well as policy (higher education, equality and diversity). Delegates will be encouraged to network and discuss over dinner (in the first day) and in group discussions (in the second day) a list of topics/questions set by the workshop organisers.

For more information please see below and/or contact Dr. Charikleia Tzanakou: or Professor Alison Rodger:

Please click to the following pages for further information about:


Transport and directions


Background information: Despite the growth of female participation in higher education and doctoral education, women are still under-represented in professorial and more permanent academic posts in most disciplines. While the Athena SWAN has put gender equality at the spotlight for the science departments, data in a number of social sciences subjects seem to be equally discouraging to women looking at a career in academia. The Economic and Social Sciences Research Council (ESRC) provided funding to investigate closely gender student and staff data across departments and institutions. The research outcomes of this project will be presented in this event which is funded by the ESRC.

Venue: Royal Society

Cost: There are no fees for this event. There are limited funding opportunities (up to £100 per attendee) for additional childcare costs. If you are interested in applying for those, contact

Date of the event: 5-6th of June 2014. The workshop begins at 16.00 on the 5th of June and will finish early afternoon of the 6th of June.

The programme includes contributions from:

  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell
  • Mr. Ken Sloan
  • Professor Teresa Rees
  • Professor Jadranka Gvozdanovic

To register, please go to this page.


Irene Joliot-Curie

Irene Juliot-Curie, Nobel Prize Winner in Chemistry, 1935


 ESRC logo