Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Working with pages and collections

Portfolios in Mahara can be created from a page or a collection.

A page contains a selection of your content, known as 'artefacts' that you can add or choose from your reusable content which you can arrange and present to others.

A collection is a series of pages to navigate through your content in a logical order, without putting everything on a single page.

For in depth guidance on Portfolios and using pages and collections visit the Mahara manual.

In this guide:

Table of contents

Building your portfolio

Pages and Collections are the basis for your portfolios in Mahara.

Whether you're creating and organising content, editing and updating information, collaborating with others, or sharing your work more widely, these guides cover the essential tasks and features you need when creating and using pages and collections in Mahara.

Getting started with pages and collections

Use a page to display related artefacts together, such as project work, achievements, or evidence for assessment.
  1. On the dashboard, click + Create
  2. Select + Create and choose Page
  3. Complete the page settings:
    • Page title (required)
    • Page description - a brief overview of the purpose of the page
    • Tags - keywords to help you find the page later
    • Create via tags (optional) - use this to automatically add artefacts and sections that match selected tags.
    • If creating a basic page, select Save
  4. If using the Advanced settings
    • Add Instructions - for setting up the page in the editor to scaffold the portfolio creation
    • Choose whether to prevent the removal of sections
    • Select a name display format - this is the name others see when they view your portfolio
    • Upload a cover image (not currently visible in Mahara 26.04)
    • Choose whether the page can be used as a Template by other users - consider creating Templates for students to use in scaffolded learning
    • Choose whether to enable Sign-off (this options works best in a collection with a portfolio completion page)
    • Select Save.

Managing pages, collections and tags

When working across Mahara content and sections it is useful to note that:

  • the red bin deletes the item or section
  • the grey pencil enables you to edit the item or section
  • the cogs open up the configure tab, allowing you to edit the basic and advanced settings of a page
  • the grey arrows allow you to drag and drop items or sections to re-order them on the page or collection
  • the grey dots allow you to re-order content, i.e the order of pages in a collection
  • these grey arrows are used to resize blocks by clicking, holding and dragging the icon.

Sharing pages and collections

Remember to share with care. Check what information you're sharing and who you're sharing it with. Use expiry dates where possible, and avoid sharing unnecessary personal data.

Use the Share option to give one or more people access to your portfolio pages or collections. You can apply the same permissions to multiple pages and/or collections at once.

By default, your portolios are only visible to you. Share them with the public, registered account holders, institutions, groups or individuals.

For full detailed guidance visit the Mahara manual section on sharing your portfolios and the advanced options available.

  1. On your dashboard, select the Share button: Control your privacy or select Shared by me from the Main menu
  2. Find the Collection or Page you want to share and select to set who can view your portfolio, for how long, and with what permissions
  3. You can set sharing permissions in bulk by selecting multiple pages and collections and applying the same permissions at once to all of them. Click into the Collections or Pages search boxes and select your items to share
  4. If using Advanced options, choose whether to enable page comments, moderate comments, allow copying of your selected portfolios by other users, or add overriding start or stop dates so sharing only occurs between your selected start and end dates
  5. Choose from the dropdown menu who to Share with, i.e. a friend, a group, the public. Enter their details in the Search menu and if applicable, select their special role from the dropdown menu (usually left as no special role but includes Manager, Peer, Peer and Manager or Reviewer)
  6. If applicable, enter your sharing from and to dates
  7. Select the green Save button for access rules to applied to your chosen collections and pages or Cancel to abort the changes
  8. If you select individual people or a group with whom to share your portfolio, they will receive a notification. That notification contains a link to your portfolio. If you restricted access for your portfolio to a particular time, the time frame is mentioned in the notification.

Let us know you agree to cookies