Skip to main content Skip to navigation


The Vice-Provosts / Chairs of Faculty support the Provost in providing academic leadership to Departments in their Faculty and represent their Faculty on a number of University committees. They also lead on specific initiatives in relation to activities with their faculty and play ambassadorial and ceremonial roles in support of the University’s activities and strategy.

Vice-Provost / Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Arts - Professor Rachel Moseley

Rachel is a Professor of Film and Television History, Vice-Provost and Chair of the Faculty of Arts.

She has published widely on questions of representation, identity and popular aesthetics. Her most recent books have looked at stop-frame animation in British children’s television of the 1960s and 1970s in Hand-Made Television, Palgrave, 2016, and at the politics of landscape and place on screen in Picturing Cornwall, University of Exeter Press, 2018. Public engagement and research impact have been significant aspects of her work in recent years, in the Midlands and in Cornwall. Rachel completed her PhD at Warwick in 2000, after graduating from University of East Anglia with an MA (with Distinction) in Film Studies, and before that from Warwick with a BA Joint Honours (First Class) in Film and Literature. She has been an active supporter for widening participation in arts education at Warwick and beyond, and is a Parent Governor at a state secondary school in Birmingham. see more...Link opens in a new window

PA: Jessica Hill / Samantha Gane, Email:

Vice-Provost / Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Medicine - Professor Mike Ward

Mike is a Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, Vice-Provost and Chair of the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Medicine.

Mike did his BA at Cambridge, studying Natural Sciences (1983-1986) and specialising in chemistry. He remained in Cambridge for his PhD (1986-1989) then, after a post-doc in Strasbourg, he started his independent academic career in Bristol in 1990. After 13 years there he moved to Sheffield in 2003 and, after 14 years in Sheffield, he moved to the University of Warwick in 2017 as Head of Department, a job which he has done for six years. He has won Royal Society of Chemistry awards for his research at different career stages, most recently the Supramolecular Chemistry award for 2016, as well as a Warwick teaching (WATE) award for 2021. Mike’s research interests are all based around the coordination and supramolecular chemistry of transition metal and lanthanide ions and their multinuclear assemblies.

Mike has been involved with the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in various capacities, including membership of two journal editorial boards. He is currently (2022 – 2025) President of the RSC’s ‘Dalton Community’ inorganic chemistry division. see more...Link opens in a new window

PA: Joy Montgomery, Email:

Vice-Provost / Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Social Sciences - Professor Nick Vaughan-Williams

Nick is a Professor of International Security, Vice-Provost and Chair of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

He has worked at Warwick since 2010 and has held previous posts at Exeter and Aberystwyth Universities. His programme of research - supported by grants from the British Academy, UK Economic and Social Research Council, and Leverhulme Trust - focuses on the international politics of borders, migration, and security. He is a former recipient of the Philip Leverhulme Prize for Politics and International Studies and Gold Winner of the Association for Borderlands Studies Past Presidents' Book Award.

He was Director of the MA in International Relations, and has contributed to the delivery of undergraduate and postgraduate modules in International Relations and Security in PAIS. He served as Head of the Department of Politics and International Studies from 2015 until 2021. Nick is a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA) and holds degrees in Modern History and International Relations from the University of Oxford (BA and MA), the University of Warwick (MA), and the University of Wales, Aberystwyth (PhD). see more...Link opens in a new window

PA: Rose Clark, Email: