Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

4 May 2020


From: PGEnglish, Resource <PGEnglish@warwick.ac.uk>
Sent: 04 May 2020 11:49
Cc: Katz, Daniel <D.Katz@warwick.ac.uk>; Mason, Emma <Emma.Mason@warwick.ac.uk>; Botley, Paul <Paul.Botley@warwick.ac.uk>; Storey, Mark <M.J.Storey@warwick.ac.uk>; Varma, Rashmi <Rashmi.Varma@warwick.ac.uk>; PGEnglish, Resource <PGEnglish@warwick.ac.uk>; Francis, Emma <E.J.Francis@warwick.ac.uk>; Meeuwis, Michael <M.Meeuwis@warwick.ac.uk>; De Sousa Aguiar de Medeiros, Paulo <P.de-Medeiros@warwick.ac.uk>
Subject: Senior Tutor's Message to PGT students
 
Dear Students,
 

First of all, I hope you and yours are all well and safe. Our biggest concern is your wellbeing, and we will do everything we can to support you in this situation, which is unprecedented for us as well as for you. We understand that you have many worries and uncertainties, and both the University and the Department are working hard to adjust and adapt as necessary to the current constraints. On this page, you will find provisions the University has made for postgraduate taught students:

https://warwick.ac.uk/students/teaching_learning_assessments_summer2020/pgt-covid-19-impact-mitigation-policy

Our Department also has a dedicated page on Covid-19:

https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/arts/english/currentstudents/postgraduate/covid-19updates/

On the University’s page, I advise you to read especially closely the change in regulations with regard to degree classification and failed modules. These are significant modifications, which I hope will provide reassurance. If you have further questions about these policies, please contact either Rashmi Varma (Rashmi.Varma@warwick.ac.uk) or Emily Brannigan (PGEnglish@warwick.ac.uk).

In addition to these measures, processes regarding mitigating circumstances have also been changed, and in very exceptional conditions, it is possible to defer all Term 3 assessments until the Autumn. For questions on these matters, contact me: d.katz@warwick.ac.uk.
 

Additional information about the University’s response to Covid-19 can be found in the twice weekly newsletter that is being sent by the University to students; read these carefully when they appear. Past copies can be found here - https://warwick.ac.uk/students/newsletter/.

To close, let me say that we know how strange and unsettling things are right now. You should not hesitate to reach out to your personal tutor for any form of support you might need, or to me, as Senior Tutor.

Stay safe and be well,

Dan