Skip to main content

Conferences

The HRC sponsors many workshops, symposiums and conferences. These range from half-day events to 3-day international residential conferences. Details about conferences can be obtained from the HRC or from the conference organisers.

Conference Archive


HRC Doctoral Fellowship Conferences

Remarkable Things: The Agency of Objecthood and The Power of Materiality - Saturday 10th March 2018

The Masculine Worlds of Race and Power: Objects, Practices and Emotions in Colonial and Post-Colonial Societies in the Long Nineteenth Century - Saturday 5th May 2018

Unveiling Hidden Discourses: 1968 Fifty Years Later - Saturday 19th May 2018

 Other HRC Sponsored Conferences

Sociability in Britain and its Empire, c.1600-c.1850 workshop - Friday 9th March 2018

'Public Office in Britain and its Empire, c.1550-c.1900' - Friday 16th March 2018

Books Out of Place - Friday 11th May 2018 - HRC Special Event

Warwick Parish Research Symposium - Parishes and Migration - Saturday 12th May 2018

1968 I 2018 Protest, Performance and the Public Sphere - 7th - 9th June 2018

Research and Thinking about Rhetoric - Friday 8th June 2018

City, Space and Spectacle in Nineteenth-Century Performance - 8th-10th June 2018 - Palazzo Pesaro-Papafava, Venice

Cultural Histories of Air and Illness - 8th -9th June 2018

Philosophy and Poetry Workshop - Monday 11th June 2018

Between and Beyond: Transnational Networks and the British empire, ca. 18-20th centuries - 21st - 22nd June 2018

Identity and Community: Metaphysics, Politics and Aesthetics - 27th - 29th June 2018

Living a Good Life in Older Age - 5th - 6th July 2018

Film as Film Today: On the Theory and Criticism of V. F. Perkins - Sept 2018 tbc

Visuality of Text: Interdisciplinary approaches to the display of the word - Sept/Oct 2018 tbc

Seventeenth Century England: A Symposium in Honour of Bernard Capp - Friday 20th October 2018

The Legacy of Watership Down: Animals, Adaptation, Animation - Saturday 10th November 2018

"Bites Here and There": Literal and Metaphorical Cannibalism Across Disciplines - Saturday 17th November 2018