Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Oxford Playhouse - 1973

Oxford Playhouse – The University Theatre

production run: 27 November – 1 December 1973 

The Spanish Tragedy – Cast


 The Spanish Court

King of Spain  Michael Cule ( Wadhan) 
Cyprian, Duke of Castille, his brother   Gareth Jones (Lincoln)
Lorenzo, the Duke’s son   Adam Norton (Lincoln)
Bel-Imperia, Lorenzo’s sister   Jacinta Peel
General of the Spanish army  John Hester
Hieronimo, Knight Marshal of Spain Crispian Cartwright (Hertford)
Isabelle, his wife  Jane Owen (St. Anne’s)
Horatio, their son Peter Thomas (Brasenose)
Pedringano, servant to Bel-Imperia Jon Plowman (University) 
Serberine, servant to Balthazar  Arthur Bullard (Lincoln)
Christophil, servant to Lorenzo Tony Anderson (Trinity)
Bazulto, an old man Nigel Warrington (St. Peter’s)
Page Joanna Pappworth (St. Hugh’s)
Spanish Courtiers  Bahram Dehqani-Tafti (Jesus)

Richard Taylor (Balliol)

Nicholas Alexander (Christ Church)

Jerome Turner 

Maid to Isabella   Claire Mellor

 The Portuguese Court:

Viceroy of Portugal  Reggie Oliver (University)

Balthazar, his son

Afshin Khalatbary (Magdalen)
 Portuguese Noblemen:
Alexandro  Peter Carrington-Porter (University) 
Villupo Graham Blythe (Jesus)
Ambassador of Portugal Bahram Dehqani-Tafti (Jesus)

Nigel Warrington

Tony Anderson

Stephen Roberts (S. E. H.)

Adrian Fflooks (Lincoln)

 The Demi-gods:

Ghost of Andrea Robert Pearson (New College)
Revenge Cindy Selby (St. Hilda’s)

 Creative Roles:

Director Francis Matthews (University)
Music scored and arranged by Christopher Pickles
Lighting design by Robin Smythe
Assistant Producer Jon Plowman (University) 


*The production had two intervals of twelve minutes