Skip to main content

New Chair of the Faculty of Arts

Congratulations to Professor Penny Roberts who will take up the role of Chair of the Faculty of Arts from 1 January 2018.

Penny joined Warwick in 1992 as Lecturer in early modern European History and has since held a number of positions, most recently as Professor and Deputy Head of the Department of History. Penny is also Director of the Centre for Arts Doctoral Research Excellence and co-Chair of the Arts Education Committee. She is co-editor of both the Oxford University Press journal French History and the Manchester University Press series 'Studies in early modern European history' and a trustee of the Society for the Study of French History.

Penny’s research specialism is the social, religious, cultural and political history of sixteenth-century France, especially its religious wars, on which she has published several books and numerous articles and essays. Most recently she has been writing about the history of violence in early modern Europe.

Professor Simon Gilson will continue as Chair of the Faculty until 31 December 2017, allowing for a handover period to Professor Roberts.

The role of the Faculty Chair

In addition to chairing the Board of the Faculty, Chairs of Faculties serve on a range of University committees and are responsible for promoting the policies, programmes and procedures within their respective Faculty. Faculty Chairs are also a source of support and act as ‘first port of call’ for Heads of Department and Research Centres in the relevant Faculty and inform and influence the Faculty on key decisions affecting it and the University.

Faculty Chairs are also engaged in the appointment processes for key academic posts within the Faculty. Chairs serve ex officio on the following formal bodies: Senate, Steering Committee, Research Committee, Honorary Degrees Committee, Academic Quality and Standards Committee, Capital, Space and Amenities Group, the Academic Resourcing Committee, and may also act as Chair of the Investigating Committee and Appeals Committee.

Penny Roberts