Skip to main content

New University Council lay members appointed

We're delighted to announce the appointment of two new lay members to our University Council from August 2015 – Dr Neil Bentley and Dr Deborah Keith.

Sir George Cox, Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council said:

Warwick is widely acknowledged as having a very strong Council, not just in terms of the calibre of its members but in the diversity of backgrounds they represent and the experience they bring. Both Neil and Deborah add something further to that capability.

Neil BentleyDr Neil Bentley is CEO of OUTstanding, the network for current and future business leaders who are LGBT and allies. He is also Head of Board Practice for the boutique search firm Audeliss, focusing on recruiting diverse talent into boardrooms.

Neil was previously Deputy Director-General and Chief Operating Officer of the Confederation of Business Industry (CBI), working at the highest level of the business and government interface nationally and internationally. Neil worked on public policy issues ranging from skills and employment to public service reform and energy and climate change. He sits on the international advisory panel for the Carbon Trust, advises the Science Council on diversity and inclusion and was the former deputy chair of Stonewall, the LGBT equality charity.

Commenting on his appointment, Neil said:

I am honoured to be taking a seat on the Council and, with my background in business leadership and diversity, I look forward to making a meaningful contribution to the ongoing success of such an outstanding university."

Deborah KeithDr Deborah Keith has over 30 years of experience in the science and technology sector, most recently in corporate research and development (R&D) with Syngenta, a global agri-business. She has spent the past 16 years focused on the commercialization of R&D innovation, including leading R&D strategy development and organisational change. Recently as Head of External Collaborations at Syngenta, Deborah has headed up global teams to build strategic partnerships with academia and commercial enterprises. She is a Non-Executive Director of the Boards of the BBSRC, the Aerospace Technology Institute, the John Innes Centre and the James Hutton Institute.

Deborah said:

I am very pleased to accept appointment as lay member to the University of Warwick Council, and am genuinely excited to be taking part in the development of this great University."

Find out more...

What is Council?

The Council is our executive governing body, responsible for the financial, property, investments and general business of the University, and for setting the general strategic direction of the institution.

Who sits on Council?

The Council has a majority of members from outside the University, as well as staff and student representatives.

How are Council members appointed?

Lay members are appointed solely on merit: they are committed to taking forward the work of the University and have the necessary skills, experience and enthusiasm for Council's work.