Skip to main content

European and Local Elections – are you registered?

The next European Parliamentary elections in Coventry and Warwickshire take place on Thursday 22 May 2014. Make sure you’re registered to vote by Tuesday 6 May to ensure you can vote for the councillors that represent you. Local elections will also take place in Coventry on this date.

To be eligible to vote in May, you must be on the electoral register. Students living in on-campus accommodation will have been added to the electoral register providing they were living at their current address in November. If you are living in private accommodation, or have moved into on-campus accommodation since November, you will need to make sure you are registered to vote with your local council. It’s easy to do – you can print off a form at and post it back to either Coventry City Council or Warwick District Council, via the addresses below.

Once you’ve registered, you will receive a poll card with instructions on where and how to vote on 22 May. This is just a reminder and you don’t need to take it with you to vote.

If you are living on campus and are unsure whether you are in the Coventry or Warwick wards for voting, please contact Senate Reception for more information. You can also check by inputting your postcode at 

If you know you will not be able to get to the polling station on election day, you can apply for a postal vote or to vote by proxy. Visit About my vote for a form and return completed forms to either Coventry City Council or Warwick District Council via the addresses below.

Application forms to vote by post must be received by no later than 5pm on Wednesday 7 May 2014 and application forms to vote by proxy must be received no later than 5pm on Wednesday 14 May 2014.

International students may also be eligible to vote. You can find out more at

Coventry City Council
Electoral Registration Officer
Room 14, Council House
Earl Street

Warwick District Council
Electoral Registration Officer
Riverside House, Milverton Hill
CV32 5HZ

For more information about the elections on 22 May, visit