Skip to main content

OSCA Winners 2013

Five students have been awarded Outstanding Student Contribution Awards (OSCAs) this year. The students, who are all final year undergraduate students, are being honoured for making significant contributions during their time at Warwick to the University community or internationalisation agenda. They will receive their awards at degree ceremonies in July.

OSCAs have been awarded to:

  • Muhammad Ali Chaudhry, who was nominated by Alexander Jupp for his work as leader and founder of educational charity Renaissance Pakistan. The charity seeks to bring quality education to some of the poorest and most under-privileged children in Pakistani cities. Through Renaissance Pakistan, Muhammad Ali has overseen the opening of three schools, each teaching up to 60 children and – with the Warwick Pakistan Society – the Teach Pakistan initiative whereby Warwick Pakistani students volunteer to support children and teach in Renaissance schools during University vacations

  • Siraj Datoo, nominated by Sophie Potter for his role as Co-Founder and Editor in Chief of The Student Journals (TSJ) and as a freelance journalist, specialising in articles on human rights and foreign policy and affairs. TSJ is an independent online publication which aims to bring together students from all UK universities to discuss and debate key issues. Its live coverage of student tuition fee protests was used by the national press and the journal was commended at the Guardian Student Media Awards in 2011. Siraj has also written about the experiences of Muslim students at university, participated in BBC World Service panel discussions on Muslim issues, and organised a conference for students wishing to enter journalism.
  • Aimee Hardaker, who was nominated by Caroline Parker for her creation of “Warwick Mind Aware”, a society which campaigns to raise awareness for mental health. Aimee secured funding from Student Run Self Help to run a campaign on body image, and ran a campaign in 2013 on mental wellbeing on campus, raising awareness of mental health problems that can affect students, reducing the stigma that can be associated with these and advising students on where to go for help.
  • Jure Jeric, nominated by Ingrid Lange and Caroline Gibson for his role as Editor of the journal Reinvention: an international journal of undergraduate research. As Editor Jure trained and managed a team of undergraduates at Warwick and Monash, liaised with academics and peers internationally and worked on the first Monash-Warwick International Conference of Undergraduate Research. He was also Student Coordinator at the British Conference of Undergraduate Research in 2012 and organised a co-operation project on Reinvention at the Warwick Economics Summit.
  • Sophie Potter, who was nominated by Alex Clark and Katherine Andrews for her role as Student Calling Team Manager, whereby she is responsible for coordinating and motivating a team of 30 students to raise alumni donations for the University, and as President of World@Warwick, the University’s largest cultural society which aims to promote cultural understanding and integration. World@Warwick holds weekly language cafes and global evenings on campus and regular trips and national gatherings in collaboration with other societies to enable students of all nationalities to come together and share their cultural beliefs.

Winner Jure Jeric said:

It is a real honour to receive the Award and I am delighted that I have managed to contribute to the emerging trend of fostering undergraduate research and giving a voice to students as producers of knowledge. My educational experience would not be the same without a wealth of opportunities such as Reinvention and international conferences on undergraduate research. These possibilities, in combination with the Monash-Warwick Alliance, make Warwick an unique place for undergraduate researchers and contributors to academia. I would like to extend my sincerest gratitude to all my mentors and peers from the Institute of Advanced Teaching and Learning (IATL) and the PPE department.

Winner Aimee Hardaker said:

I am very pleased to have been awarded the OSCA. It is a great honour and extremely satisfying on both a personal level and because it recognises the great work that has been done for mental health on campus this year.

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Nigel Thrift, said:

All Warwick students are high-achievers but these individuals have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to volunteering, internationalisation or fundraising activities alongside their studies. It is a pleasure to be able to recognise their contributions and the University should be very proud of their achievements.”

Any member of the University may nominate a student for an award and a panel comprising the Deputy Chair of the University Council, the Vice-Chancellor, a Pro-Vice-Chancellor, the Registrar and the Students’ Union President judge the nominations. For more details of the awards see