Skip to main content

Outstanding students recognised

Eight final year students have been recognised with Outstanding Student Contribution Awards, celebrating the difference they have made through their efforts outside of their studies during their time at Warwick.

Most winners collected their awards during their degree ceremony, adding another memorable moment to their special day. Congratulations to them all!

Professor Sir Nigel Thrift, Vice Chancellor, said:

The OSCAs have now been running for four years, and it’s great to see the scheme growing to a point where this year we have been able to identify eight exceptional students to receive an award. All of the nominations we received demonstrated the outstanding things that our students are doing alongside their academic studies, and it is always a pleasure to read them. Thank you to the numerous staff and students who made the effort to nominate someone to be recognised in this way. Huge congratulations to all those nominated, and to all of this year’s winners.

The 2015 winners are:

Fraser Simpson

Fraser Simpson (Department of Chemistry)
received a Benefactors OSCA for his contribution to music making at Warwick.

Zena Agha Zena Agha (Department of History)
recognised for her ‘Shoot from the Lip’ poetry project, outreach and political work.
Sarah Chen Sarah Chen (Department of Engineering)
recognised for being an active ambassador in encouraging female students to study STEM subjects, along with numerous outreach and volunteering activities.
Stefan van de Fluit Stefan van de Fluit (Warwick Business School)
recognised for demonstrating an exceptional enthusiasm for entrepreneurship.
Ibtehal Attaelmanan Ibtehal Attaelmanan (Department of Life Sciences)
recognised for establishing an international volunteer network, and playing key roles in Warwick Marrow and the Warwick Development Summit.
Alex Clark Alex Clark (Department of Economics)
received a Benefactors OSCA for his contribution to the TEDx event at Warwick, along with a number of other on campus activities.
Henry Wellbelove Henry Wellbelove (Department of Modern Languages)
recognised for his strength of character in completing his degree despite a family tragedy, and his charity fundraising efforts.
Liam Lewis Liam Lewis (Department of Modern Languages)
recognised for his contribution to his department and both the campus and local communities through a variety of activities.

Read more on all the winners

Find out more

Any member of the University community can nominate a student for this award.

Find out more about who’s eligible to be nominated, the criteria and how to make your nomination.

Nominations will open again at the start of term 3, in 2016.

This year 68 nominations were received, across 20 departments representing all four faculties.

Benefactors OSCA

The Benefactors OSCA is generously funded by donations from the University’s supporters to reward exceptional achievements by Warwick students within the Warwick community or through Warwick initiatives.