Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Warwick Prize for Writing 2015 longlist announced

We’re delighted to reveal the 13 books that make up the 2015 Warwick Prize for Writing longlist.
Showcasing emerging writing talent, as well as internationally recognised authors, the list includes one poetry, seven fiction and five non-fiction books, with short stories, memoir, science fiction all represented.

The 2015 judging panel is chaired by Warwick alumna and author A L Kennedy who is joined by academic Robert Macfarlane, actress and director Fiona Shaw, Warwick alumnus and Lonely Planet founder Tony Wheeler and physician and writer Gavin Francis.

They must now whittle the titles down to a shortlist of 6, set to be decided in October, before choosing an overall winner to be announced at a special event on Tuesday 10th November.

The full longlist is as follows:

  • Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume (Tramp Press) - Fiction
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler (Serpent’s Tail) - Fiction
  • Divided Lives by Lyndall Gordon (Virago) – Non-fiction
  • Her Birth by Rebecca Goss (Carcanet) – Poetry
  • The Dig by Cynan Jones (Granta) – Fiction
  • Redeployment by Phil Klay (Canongate) – Fiction
  • A Man In Love by Karl Ove Knausgaard translated by Don Bartlett (Harvill Secker) – Non-fiction
  • The Lagoon: How Aristotle Invented Science by Armand Marie Leroi (Bloomsbury) – Non-fiction
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson (Virago) – Fiction
  • Ismael and His Sisters by Louise Stern (Granta) – Fiction
  • Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson (Scribe) – Non-fiction
  • Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer (Fourth Estate) – Fiction
  • Skyfaring by Mark Vanhoenacker (Chatto & Windus) – Non-fiction


To find out more and follow the latest news from the Prize visit

Warwick Prize for Writing

The Warwick Prize for Writing is biennial literary prize, open to any nationality, genre or form of writing. The longlist is selected from submissions placed by students, staff and alumni from Warwick and Monash University. This year for the first time international publishers were also invited to make direct submissions.