Skip to main content

Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Awards success

The Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of science, has announced the appointment of 21 new Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award holders. Two Warwick Professors, Sebastien Perrier, Department of Chemistry, and Mohan Balasubramanian, Warwick Medical School, have received the prestigious awards this year.

Jointly funded by the Wolfson Foundation and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS), the scheme aims to provide universities with additional support to enable them to attract science talent from overseas and retain respected UK scientists of outstanding achievement and potential.

The newly appointed award holders are working on a wide range of projects. Professor Mohan Balasubramanian’s research will focus on Cytokinetic actomyosin ring structure, assembly and function, while Professor Sebastien Perrier’s work will focus on Functional soft nanotubes from molecular engineering.

About the Royal Society

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world’s most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Society’s fundamental purpose, as it has been since its foundation in 1660, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Find out more

For further information on the Royal Society, visit their website, follow them on Twitter or visit their Facebook page.