Skip to main content

Literary acclaim for Honorary Professor

The  Lunar Men
The Lunar Men
Originally published 29 September 2003

Jenny Uglow, Honorary Professor in the Department of English and Comparative Literary Studies, has been awarded two prestigious literary prizes.

Ms Uglow, who is also an Associate Honorary Fellow of the Warwick Eighteenth Century Centre, was awarded the Hessell-Tiltman History Prize in June and the James Tait Black Award in September for her book, The Lunar Men: the Friends who made the Future (Faber and Faber, 2002).

The Lunar Men tells the stories of the core men who made up the The Lunar Society in the 18th century, Matthew Boutlon, Erasmus Darwin, Joseph Priestly, Josiah Wedgwood, and James Watt – men who were at the centre of innovation, scientific understanding, and industrialisation in England.

Ms Uglow received £3000 and a silver S.T. Dupont pen for the Hessell-Tiltman prize for History, and will receive a further £3000 for the James Tait Black award. Previous winners of the James Tait Black award include Salman Rushdie, EM Forster, Evelyn Waugh, and DH Lawrence.