Skip to main content

Brief Encounter - Andy Dyer

Andy DyerPosition:
Finance and Internal Affairs Officer

Life before Warwick:
Grew up in Hampshire playing lots of sport and getting good grades. Took a GAP year to do a ski season.

Best thing about working at Warwick:
The people, everyone’s so friendly and everybody knows everyone.

Worst thing about working at Warwick:
Weekends on campus, there’s never anything to do during the daytime.

People are always surprised to learn this about me, but...
I’m a pretty good sportsman, even if I say so myself.

As a young child what did you want to be as a "grown-up"?
A business man with lots of money.

Now that you are grown-up what would be your "dream job"?
Something people orientated, challenging and exciting. In a place that buzzes, like London, or a ski resort!

What has life's experience taught you so far?
It’s not so much what you know, it’s who you know. Though knowing something is clearly quite important!

Major achievement to date?:
Getting a 2:1. Sounds boring but I’m proud that I manage to enjoy life and do lots of things whilst still managing to attain decent grades.

What do you treasure most?
My friends.

Any hidden talents?
Possibly, but they’re still hidden.

If you could change one thing in the University overnight, what would it be?
I’d fix the tables in Cholo!

Which person inspires you most, and why?
My dad. (Sorry mum!) His work ethic is unbelievable.

Your all-time favourite record or piece of music?
Air - All I Need

Your favourite hobby or pastime?
Skiing

Ideal Career path:
Something financial, banking, investment management or maybe consultancy. Then later I’d like to own a chalet company and spend lots of time in the Alps.