Skip to main content

Warwick Wins Three out of Fifty National Teaching Awards

Professor Ed Peile, Warwick Medical School, Professor Jonothan Neelands, Institute of Education, and Dr Mike Neary, Sociology have each won one of only fifty National Teaching Fellowship Awards offered for 2007 by the Higher Education Academy to be used for personal development in learning and teaching.

These outstanding achievements mean that Warwick has won the maximum three awards permitted per institution.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) recognises and celebrates individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience.

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Teaching and Learning, Professor Michael Whitby, said:

"This proves once again that students at Warwick University are taught by some of the best lecturers in the UK.

"It also shows how the very high level of research here at Warwick informs, supports and helps undergraduate learning."

Professor Peile’s work in transforming graduate entry medical education has involved engaging staff and students in a range of innovative approaches designed to improve the student, and ultimately the patient experience.

Having played a pivotal role in the development of drama education both nationally and internationally, Professor Neelands’ global influence across and beyond his subject discipline was recognised as an exceptional achievement.

Dr Neary’s innovative and collaborative ethos has continually offered invigorating perspectives on how to balance pedagogy and research and a fresh approach to teaching and to the facilitation of student-generated knowledge.

The 50 individual award winners for 2007, chosen from 223 nominations submitted by higher education institutions across England and Northern Ireland, will each receive awards of £10,000 to support learning and teaching activities and enhance the student experience.

The Fellows will receive their awards at a ceremony and dinner in London on 19 September.

Further Information

Professor Ed Peile

Jonothan Neelands

Dr Mike Neary