Skip to main content

Monash-Warwick professor awarded Australian Laureate Fellowship

The Australian Laureate Fellowships scheme supports outstanding Australian and international researchers and research leaders to build Australia’s research capacity, undertake innovative research programs and mentor early-career researchers. The 16 Australian Laureate Fellows for 2014 were announced today (22 August) by Minister for Education, the Hon. Christopher Pyne MP, at a ceremony in Adelaide.

Monash University Professor Kate Smith-Miles, School of Mathematical Sciences, and Joint Monash-Warwick Professor Thomas Davis were awarded the fellowships, which total more than $5.3 million.

Professor Smith-Miles is also one of two female researchers to receive a Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellowship, which will see her take an ambassadorial role to promote women in research in addition to her research project.

Professor Davis was appointed under the Monash Warwick Alliance as one of the first joint professors to lead the Monash-Warwick global research agenda. The Monash Warwick Alliance is an innovative approach to higher education that is accelerating the exchange of people, ideas and information between Monash and Warwick Universities.

Research Projects

Professor Smith-Miles' project aims to develop a new paradigm in algorithm testing, creating novel test instances and tools to elicit insights into algorithm strengths and weaknesses. Such advances are urgently needed to support good research practice in academia, and to avoid disasters when deploying algorithms in practice.

Professor Davis' project aims to design novel nanoparticulate systems for the delivery of both an endogenous signalling molecule and genes to cells. The project aims to inform future optimal design criteria for bespoke nanoparticle delivery systems. A thorough understanding of how nanoparticles interact with biological systems is imperative if advances are to be made in using nanotechnology for therapeutic applications. Fundamental aspects of nanoparticle transport, targeting and cell uptake will be investigated.