Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Honorary Degrees Awarded

Originally Published 22 January 2003

On Wednesday 22 January 2003, the University awarded honorary degrees to Estelle Morris MP and Coventry University Vice-Chancellor Dr Michael Goldstein:

Estelle Morris MP Hon LLD

A highly respected and much loved local MP, Estelle Morris has long had a close association with Coventry, Warwickshire and the West Midlands. In 1970 she began her teacher training studies at Coventry College of Education, where she gained a University of Warwick validated BEd. She taught at Coventry's Sidney Stringer School and Community College between 1974-92.

She became a councillor on Warwick District Council in 1979 serving as a councillor there until 1991 and as leader of the Labour Group on the council from 1981-89. She is now MP for Birmingham Yardley - a seat she first won on 9 April, 1992.

She became an Opposition Spokeswoman on Education and Employment in 1995, and following the formation of the new Labour government in 1997 she was given a succession of ministerial roles including: Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, (School Standards) 1997-98; Minister of State (Minister for School Standards) 1998-2001; and Secretary of State for Education from June 2001 to October 2002.

Dr Michael Goldstein CBE Hon DSc

Dr Goldstein began his academic life at the Northern Polytechnic London (now London Metropolitan University). It was there that he obtained his First Class Honours Degree in Chemistry (1960), and a PhD in Chemistry (1963). He then continued to teach and research there until 1974 when moved to Sheffield Polytechnic to become Head of their Department of Chemistry and Biology. He also served as Dean of Sheffield Polytechnic's Faculty of Science from 1979.

He joined the then Coventry (Lanchester) Polytechnic in 1983 as Deputy Director, becoming Director in 1987. He managed the Polytechnic's transition from control by Coventry City Council to a fully independent higher education institution in 1989, and also subsequently oversaw the institution's change to Coventry University in 1992. Dr Goldstein was a significant figure in the Council for National Academic Awards (CNAA), the body for awarding degrees and assuring standards in the Polytechnics and Colleges, during the 70s and 80s. He was a member of several CNAA Boards and Committees, including the Chemistry Board, serving as its Chairman for six years.

He was active for many years in the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), the professional body representing chemistry and chemists in the UK. He was also President of the RSC Education Division, Chairman of the Education and Qualifications Board, a member of RSC Council and of its Steering and Co-ordinating Committee. He has served on the board of UCEA, the Universities and Colleges Employers Association, and as a member of the board of UCAS (Universities and Colleges Admissions Service) and he was also Chairman of UCAS from 1997 to 2001. He currently serves in a number of roles in Coventry and Warwickshire including: member of the Coventry & Warwickshire Local Learning and Skills Council, Director of Coventry, Solihull and Warwickshire Partnership Ltd, Director of CV One Limited, and member of the Advisory Group of Common Purpose Coventry. In 1997 he was awarded a CBE for services to higher education.