Skip to main content Skip to navigation

New Year's Honours 2009

Professor Martin Cave, Director of the Business School’s Centre for Management under Regulation has been awarded an OBE for public service in the New Year’s Honours list.

Professor Cave is an economist specialising in the regulation of sectors such as airports, broadcasting, housing, legal services, posts, telecommunications and water. He has been heavily involved in providing advice on these matters to the UK and other governments and to the European Commission. His independent review of the regulation of social housing for the Department of Communities and Local Government formed the basis for the creation of the new Tenant Services Agency by the Housing and Regeneration Act 2008.

Warwick honorary graduate, Terry Pratchett, was also honoured - receiving a knighthood. Author of the comedic fantasy book series Discworld he has co-written books with two Warwick researchers - Professor Ian Stewart, and Dr Jack Cohen - using his Discworld universe to explain real scientific concepts. On receiving his knighthood, he said: "There are times when phrases such as 'totally astonished' just don't do the job. I am of course delighted and honoured and, needless to say, flabbergasted."

In addition Professor Ian Halliday, Chief Executive of the Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, president of the European Science Foundation and a member of Warwick’s Science Faculty Advisory Board, was awarded an OBE for services to Science and Kumar Muthalagappan, managing director of Pearl Hotels and Restaurants Group, and a lay member of University Council, was appointed OBE for services to the hospitality industry.

For the full New Year’s Honours list, see