Skip to main content

Global Commodities: Planning Workshop

Department of History, University of Warwick, 13 April 2011.


Overview

How was materiality interpreted in different parts of the world? What were their social and cultural associations? This stands aims to create a dialogue between history of art, architecture, literary scholars and historians. This preliminary meeting will discuss the methodologies, themes and outcomes of the Network

The research objectives of the ‘Global Commodities’ network include:

• the combination of the methodologies of global history and material culture to analyse the role of material artefacts in establishing and developing global connections;

• to encourage scholars who specialize in individual area studies and/or disciplines to engage in transregional, global and interdisciplinary research;

• to promote intercultural dialogue and understanding through the historical study of material culture.


Programme

  • 10.30-11-00 Arrival and coffee
  • 11.00-12.30 Introduction by Anne Gerritsen and Giorgio Riello and general discussion
  • 12.30-14.00 Lunch
  • 14.00-15.00 Presentations by Karina Corrigan, Glenn Adamson and Suraiya Faroqhi
  • 15.00-17.00 General discussion on aims, outcomes, activities and scholars in the network
  • 17.00-18.00 Reception
  • 18.00-20.00 Dinner

Participants


Glenn Adamson

Victoria and Albert Museum

g.adamson@vam.ac.uk

Marta Ajmar

Victoria and Albert Museum

m.ajmar@vam.ac.uk

Maxine Berg

University of Warwick

Maxine.berg@warwick.ac.uk

Zoltán Biedermann

Birkbeck, University of London

z.biedermann@bbk.ac.uk

Karina Corrigan

Peabody Essex Museum

Karina_Corrigan@pem.org

Craig Clunas

University of Oxford

craig.clunas@hoa.ox.ac.uk

Rebecca Earle

University of Warwick

r.earle@warwick.ac.uk

Suraiya Faroqhi

Bilgi University, Istanbul

suraiya@lrz.uni-muenchen.de

Margot Finn

University of Warwick

m.finn@warwick.ac.uk

Anne Gerritsen

University of Warwick

a.t.gerritsen@warwick.ac.uk 

Christine Guth

Victoria and Albert Museum

christine.guth@rca.ac.uk

Jessica Harrison-Hall

British Museum

JHARRISON-HALL@thebritishmuseum.ac.uk

Deborah Howard

University of Cambridge

Djh1000@cam.ac.uk

David Lambert

Royal Holloway

D.Lambert@rhul.ac.uk

Luca Molà

European University Institute

l.mola@warwick.ac.uk

Giorgio Riello

University of Warwick

g.riello@warwick.ac.uk

Susan Stronge

Victoria and Albert Museum

s.stronge@vam.ac.uk

Jan van Campen

Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam

J.van.Campen@rijksmuseum.nl

Verity Wilson

University of Oxford

verity.wilson@hoa.ox.ac.uk