Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research Seminars and Events 2020-21

Wednesday 22 July, 4pm, on Teams
Screening and Conversation with Oraib Toukan, hosted by Naomi Vogt
When Things Occur (2016)
Supported by the Centre for Digital Inquiry


AUTUMN TERM 2020

Week 3
Wednesday 21 October, on Teams, 5pm
PhD-led Reading Group
The Production and Practice of Art in China: Craig Clunas, "Practices of Vision" & Lothar Ledderose, "Freedom of the Brush?"

Week 4
Wednesday 28 October, on Teams, 5pm
Claire Bishop (The Graduate Center CUNY)
Interventions: The Art of Political Timing

Week 5
Wednesday 4 November, on Teams, 5pm
Lucinda Towler (History of Art, PhD student)
Tom Wesselmann's Pop Art Nudes - A Deweyan Experience?

Week 7
Wednesday 18 November, on Teams, 5pm
Sophie Cras (Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne) & Diana Greenwald (Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum)
Intersections of Art History and Economics: Two Approaches

Week 8
Wednesday 25 November, on Teams, 5pm
Reading Group, convened by Danielle Stewart:
Decolonizing American Art: Ananda Cohen-Aponte, "Decolonizing the Global Renaissance: A View from the Andes" & Fernando Luiz Lara, "American Mirror: the Occupation of the 'New World' and the Rise of Architecture as We Know It"

Week 9
Wednesday 2 December, on Teams, 5pm
Tashima Thomas (Pratt Institute)
Banana Futures and Contemporary Latinx Art

Week 10
Wednesday 9 December, on Teams, 5pm
Tamara Golan (The University of Chicago)
Unnatural Evidence: Juridical and Artistic Inquiry in Late Medieval Switzerland


SPRING TERM 2021

Week 3
Wednesday 27 January, on Teams, 5pm
PhD-led Reading Group
Sensation in Art History: Gilles Deleuze, "Painting and Sensation" & Mayer and Priem "Learning How to See and Feel"

Week 4
Wednesday 3 February, on Teams, 5pm
Carolina Bandinelli (Cultural and Media Policy Studies)
Love Me, Tinder: Exploring Digital Cultures of Love

Week 5
Wednesday 10 February, on Teams, 5pm
Tim White (Theatre and Performance Studies)
From Argos to Eros

Week 7
Wednesday 17 February, on Teams, 5pm
Lucy Brydon (Warwick Writing Programme)

Week 8
Wednesday 3 March, on Teams, 5pm
Wenny Teo (The Courtauld Institute of Art)

Week 9
Wednesday 10 March, on Teams, 5pm
Mara Polgovsky Ezcurra (Birkbeck)
Mutable Bodies: Abstraction and Modern Dance in 1960s Argentina

Week 10
Wednesday 17 March, on Teams, 5pm
Lorenzo Pericolo (History of Art, work-in-progress seminar)


SUMMER TERM 2021

Week 3
Wednesday 12 May
Paul Smith (History of Art, work-in-progress seminar)
Rock around the clock: Cezanne, time, and landscape

Week 5
Wednesday 26 May
PhD-led Reading Group
Obscenity as an Aesthetic Category

Week 7
Friday 11 June (all day, tbc)
Interdisciplinary symposium in London chaired by Naomi Vogt (funded by the IAS)
Too Far: Extreme Aesthetics and their Endeavours

Week 9
Wednesday 23 June 
Cadence Kinsey (University College London)

Week 10
Wednesday 30 June
Amanda Hilliam & Jonathan Watkins (Ikon Gallery)
Carlo Crivelli at the Ikon Gallery: Curators' Talk