Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research Seminar in Post-Kantian European Philosophy, 2019/2020

Unless otherwise stated, Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Group seminars take place on Tuesdays, 5:30–7:30pm in Room S0.11 (ground floor of Social Studies). All welcome. For further information, please contact tbc

Select tags to filter on
 
Fri 4 Oct, '19
Workshop on Expression and Self-Knowledge with Dorit Bar-On and Lucy Campbell

Expression and Self-knowledge

Warwick University, Friday 4th October 2019

Humanities H0.03

Programme

11.00 – 12.30
Lucy Campbell (Warwick)
‘Self-knowledge: expression without expressivism’

12.30 – 2.00

Dorit Bar-On (University of Connecticut)
‘No ‘How’ Privileged Self-Knowledge’

3.00 – 4.30

Cristina Borgoni (Bayreuth University)

‘Primitive forms of first-person authority and expressive capacities’

Sat 5 Oct, '19
Departmental Open Day
Philosophy Department
Wed 9 Oct, '19
-
Department Meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 15 Oct, '19
-
Official Launch of the Post-Kantian Research Centre
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Simon Critchley (New School for Social Research): Tragedy, the Greeks and Us

Response by Andrew Cooper (Warwick) and David Fearn (Warwick)

Sat 19 Oct, '19
Open Day
Philosophy Department

Departmental Undergraduate events will be taking place throughout the day.

Tue 29 Oct, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Stephen Houlgate (Warwick)

Title: Kant and Hegel on the Antinomies of Reason

Tue 19 Nov, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Beatrice Han-Pile (Essex)

Title: 'The Doing Is Everything': A Middle-Voiced Reading of Agency in Nietzsche

Wed 20 Nov, '19
-
Department Meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 26 Nov, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Jeffrey A. Bell (Southeastern Louisiana University)

Title: 'Towards a Deleuzian-Humean Political Theory'

Wed 8 Jan, '20
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.39
Wed 15 Jan, '20
-
Department meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 21 Jan, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Guest Speakers:

Daniele Lorenzini  (Warwick)

Title: Genealogy, Possibilization, and (Post-)Critique

 David Owen (Southampton)

Title: Genealogy as Re-Problematization: Autonomy, Aspect-Change and Limits

Wed 29 Jan, '20
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.39
Wed 29 Jan, '20
-
Philosophy Question Time
S0.21

The panel includes Fabienne Peter, Sameer Bajaj, Daniele Lorenzini and Michele Giavazzi who will be discussing the following: 

• Is state authority undermined by unjust political decisions?

• When is civil disobedience justified? Is uncivil disobedience ever justified?

• Does a thin democratic majority weaken a government’s mandate?

• What are the civic duties associated with democratic citizenship?

 Come along and join the discussion and put your questions to the panel! The event will include pizza and drinks.

Tue 4 Feb, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Nina Power (Roehampton)

Title: 'Philosophies of the Wolf: Freud and Deleuze & Guattari

Tue 18 Feb, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Simone Kotva (Cambridge)

Title: 'An Enquiry Concerning Non-Human Understanding: Philosophy, Ecstasy and Ecological Thinking'

Wed 19 Feb, '20
-
CANCELLED: WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.50.
Wed 26 Feb, '20
-
Department meeting (staff)
S2.77
Tue 3 Mar, '20
-
CANCELLED: Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar

Bergson on Time and Freedom

With Keith Ansell-Pearson (Warwick), Emily Herring (Leeds) and Mark Sinclair (Roehampton)

Wed 4 Mar, '20
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.39
Wed 18 Mar, '20
-
CANCELLED: Philosophy Department Consultation Meeting with Geoff Lindsay
The Cowling Room (S2.77)
Wed 10 Jun, '20
-
Staff Department Meeting
Thu 18 Jun, '20
-
Experience of Teaching and Learning Online
By Zoom
Wed 24 Jun, '20
-
Academic Technology for Teaching and Learning in Philosophy
By Zoom