Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Class of 2014: Graduation Monday 14 July

Monday 14 July 2014

GraduationCongratulations to all our graduands from the following Faculties, who are receiving their degrees today:

Morning ceremonies @11am
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Molecular Organisation and Assembly in Cells (MOAC)
Afternoon ceremonies @ 3pm
  • History
  • Comparative American Studies
  • Classics and Ancient History
  • Film and Television
  • History of Art

We hope you have a wonderful day!

We'd also like to congratulate the winners of the Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence and the Outstanding Student Contribution Awards, who will be collecting their awards during this week's ceremonies.

Get involved

Find out what your fellow graduates are saying on Twitter and join the conversation at #warwickgrad.

And please do send us your photos and memories of the day. We'd love to hear from you.

Behind the scenes

Hear from some of the staff working to make the week run smoothly in our 'unsung heroes' feature. Today, Alison Rowan talks about her role in VIP Robing.

Monday's WATE Awards winners

Andrew Dove

Dr Andrew Dove, Department of Chemistry (11am)

Andrew works at many levels from first year Inorganic Chemistry to the MSc course in Polymer Chemistry. His strength in research has undoubtedly influenced his teaching, which has been noted by Head of Chemistry Dr Mike Shipman, who says,

Andrew is a remarkable individual; it is rare to have a staff member that combines such excellence in research alongside a strong commitment to teaching. In my eyes this research excellence makes his clearly outstanding contribution to teaching, administration of teaching and outreach even more remarkable. His teaching is clearly excellent, in the many courses that he is involved in teaching his feedback scores are consistently amongst the highest in the department. Make no mistake, this is a direct result of the way he approaches his teaching and delivers the material. His informal style and enthusiasm for the subject make him an engaging lecturer and this is often reflected in the comments that accompany the student feedback. I have personally observed his teaching and know Andrew does not shy away from a challenge, he teaches some difficult material in which the concepts are particularly challenging to get across effectively to the students."

Jack Elliott
Dr Jack Elliott, Department of History (3pm)

Jack also receives this year’s Butterworth Award, named after the founder of the University Lord Jack Butterworth. This special award is for staff who are in the early stages of their career, less than six years, so it really does mean the recipient has made a positive impact with their teaching skills. Head of History, Maria Luddy, comments,

Not only has Jack been an inspirational and extraordinarily creative teacher, but he has also been a huge asset to the broader teaching culture of the Department, in particular through his role in mentoring fellow sessional tutors but also in his interactions with permanent staff. It needs to be emphasised that this type of commitment has been far beyond the call of duty. From my own and my colleagues point of view, the flair, imagination, and enthusiasm that he brings to the classroom and the way he has been so generous in conveying this spirit to others makes him truly exceptional."

Find out more about the WATE Awards

Monday's Honorary Graduands

Malcolm Green

Professor Malcolm Green FRS, Hon DSc (11am)

Professor Malcolm Green is an internationally renowned chemist. He was a pioneer in the development of the organometallic chemistry of the transition metals and was the first to demonstrate the intermolecular insertion of transition metals into carbon-hydrogen bonds (‘C-H bond activation’). His mechanism for the polymerization of alkenes (eg polythene) is the standard taught in textbooks. He developed a new taxonomy of chemical compounds – the Covalent Bond Classification.

In the 1990s, he initiated fundamental studies into carbon nanotubes and other carbon nanomaterials. He also worked in the field of heterogeneous catalysts of hydrocarbon reactions, leading to the discovery of highly selective metal carbide catalysts for the catalytic partial oxidation of methane. This resulted in the formation in 2006 of the highly successful spin-off company, Oxford Catalysts plc.

Steven T Katz
Professor Steven T Katz, Hon DLitt (3pm)

Professor Katz holds the Slater Chair in Jewish and Holocaust Studies at Boston University and is the former Director of the Elie Wiesel Center for Jewish Studies. He received his PhD from the University of Cambridge in 1972.

He is the Academic Advisor to the Chair of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA), a member and former co-chair of the Academic Committee of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, and Chair of the Holocaust Commission of the Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture. He has published numerous works on the Holocaust and Jewish philosophy.

Tarell McCraney
Tarell McCraney, Hon DLitt (3pm)

An award-winning American playwright, director and actor, Tarell McCraney is a member of Teo Castellanos/D Projects Theater Company in Miami and was RSC/Warwick International Playwright in Residence at the Royal Shakespeare Company, 2009-10.

In April 2010, he became the 43rd member of the Steppenwolf Theatre Ensemble. His plays have premiered at theatres such as Steppenwolf, Chicago, the Royal Court, London, and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon.

Read the full biographies of all our honorary graduates