Skip to main content Skip to navigation


Professional Development- Rob's story.

Rob Eason a Technical Support Manager in SLS has recently completed an IOSH course and joined IOSH as an associate member funded by the PRF. Hear from Rob on the benefit of Professional Development through the PRF fund.

For further information, please click on the link: PRF Fund

Fri 29 Nov 2019, 15:53

Technicians Christmas Lecture- 26th November 2019

We are pleased to see two of our finest technicians taking to the Butterworth Hall stage on Tuesday 26th November to deliver an energetic, explosive and educational showcase.

Alan Burton a Senior Research Group Technician and Paul McCarroll an Electronics Engineer both from the physics department will be entertaining children and adults alike. Just to get an insight into the reasons why they wanted take part, we went to ask a few questions:

Q1. What does some of your role involve and your motto?

Paul- If academics have an idea and the equipment doesn’t exist, it is my job to invent ( design and manufacturer) the electronic system they want. I also fix anything to do with electronics in the department. My motto is, if it doesn’t explode, how shall I make it!

Alan- I fix things that are broken and work with high pressure gasses and vacuum systems. I also get to invent new processes. My Motto is, If it moves and it shouldn’t, you fix it, if it doesn’t move and it should, you fix it!

Q2. Why did you want to get involved with the Christmas lectures? What does it entail?

We were encouraged by Ally Caldecote who leads outreach in the physics department. We are full of great ideas which we are often unable to carry out due to the nature of our jobs. This is a chance for us to share these ideas and show them off in style. The Christmas lecture will involve a few big bangs and that’s all we’re saying! You’ll have to come along to see for yourself the full extent of our great ideas.

Q3. Why do you think the Christmas Lectures are an important part of outreach?

The Christmas lectures are a family event which gives us the chance to educate adults and children on science careers, especially technician roles. Not many people know that technicians get to work on discovering planets and next generation materials as well as other cool projects. 

Q4. What is the best thing about being at Warwick at Christmas?

The social events! The Physics department is like a big work family and this means a great time is always had at the Christmas events

Christmas lecture technicians

Mon 18 Nov 2019, 10:48

Technicians Christmas event

We are holding a Technicians Christmas event on Tuesday 17th December 3pm onwards in the PIT STOP area of the WMG -IMC building. It is a chance for technicians to enjoy the festive time with mulled wine/ non alcoholic drinks and a mince pie or two! We hope as many technicians as possible will join us to enjoy a festive drink and participant in a secret activity. In order to assist with catering please can you kindly fill in the form( link below) confirming your attendance and listing any dietary requirements.Technicians Christmas Event

Fri 15 Nov 2019, 16:16

Older news