Skip to main content

Library shelves

Welcome to the Exams Section

The Examinations Section of the Academic Office is responsible for organising annually well in excess of a thousand different examinations which are sat by over fifteen thousand students across the University.

Please note that some examinations (e.g. Language Centre exams and some taught postgraduate exams) are organised by the relevant teaching department - please contact the department concerned for information about these.

Contacting the Exams Section

If you have any enquiries about examinations please email or call us on 024 7652 3633 (University extension 23633).

UCU Industrial Action and Exams

Guidance for Boards of Examiners

Guidance for Academic Departments Governing the Use of Discretion by Boards of Examiners Considering the Performance of Undergraduate Students in the light of Industrial Action, Summer 2018 can be found here

Guidance to HODs on Assessment & Examination Arrangements

Guidance to Heads of Academic Departments on assessment and examination arrangements for Undergraduate and Postgraduate Taught students, consequent upon strike action can be found here

Information on the current UCU industrial action, including information about the impact on examinations can be found here

Mitigating Circumstances

The mitigating circumstances declaration form can be downloaded here


Upcoming Events


The finalised timetable for the Summer 2018 examinations to be held between 14th May - 21st June 2018 has now been published. See "Main Summer Exams Timetable - Final version" under the "Exam Timetables" link at the top left of this page (you may need to log in to view this). Personalised timetables for the main summer examination period are available

Special Exam Arrangements:

The closing dates for requests for special exam arrangements for the April and summer examinations are fast approaching. The dates are as follows;

  • April examination period – No later than Monday 5th March 2018
  • May and Summer examination period – No later the Friday 16th March 2018

Further information about special examination arrangements can be found here


Examination materials: reminder

Students are also reminded that ALL answer books, statistical tables, law statutes etc provided to candidates in examinations are University property and MUST NOT BE REMOVED from examination rooms. Examination candidates are reminded that the deliberate removal of such materials constitutes theft.

Examination candidates MUST NOT WRITE in items such as statistical tables, law statutes etc which are provided only for reference purposes within the examination.