Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Travel and local events

Birmingham Christmas Market: copyright Visit Birmingham

Local festive events

There are lots of local events across Coventry and Warwickshire which are just a short journey away on bus or train.

Coventry

Leamington

Warwick

Birmingham

Kenilworth

Do you have travel plans?

Please be aware that transportation schedules are often busy and disrupted during Christmas.

See our travel and B&B advice.

Coventry

 Christmas Lights Switch-On
Wed 20 Nov

Viennese Christmas by Candlelight
Sat 30 Nov, 6:30pm–9:30pm
Coventry Cathedral

The Snowman with Live Orchestra
Sat 7 Dec, 2pm-3pm and 4pm-5:30pm
Coventry Cathedral

Christmas Fayre & Food/cake Sales
Sat 14 Dec, 11:30am -2:30pm
Canley Community Centre

Christmas Concert in aid of NSPCC Coventry & Warwickshire Business Board
Sat 14 Dec, 2:30pm-4:30pm and 6pm–8:45pm

EX CATHEDRA: Christmas Music By Candlelight
Mon 16 Dec, 7:30pm-9:50pm
Coventry Cathedral

Christmas Film Screening: The Muppet Christmas Carol
Fri 20 Dec, 3pm-5pm
Coventry Cathedral

Christmas Film Screening: A Wonderful Life
Fri 20 Dec, 6pm-8:45pm
Coventry Cathedral

Christmas Makers Market
Sat 14 Dec, 11am-5pm

Coventry Christmas lights switch-on: Copyright Coventry Evening Telegraph

Leamington

 Leamington Lantern Parade
Sun 1st December, 4:15 pm
Bandstand in the Royal Pump Room Garden

Royal Leamington Spa Yuletide Fair
Sun 17 Nov - Sun 22 Dec (every Sunday leading up to Christmas)
Parade

Leamington lights: copyright Warwick Courier

Warwick

 Warwick Victorian Evening and Christmas lights switch-on
Thu 28 Nov, 5-9pm, Warwick

Carols at the Castle
Sat 21 Dec, 6:30-9pm, Warwick Castle

Warwick Victorian Evening: Copyright Gill Fletcher in the Warwick Courier

Birmingham

Big Wheel and Ice Rink
Thu 7 Nov - Sun 12 Jan, 10am-10pm

Birmingham's Frankfurt Christmas Market
Thu 7 Nov - Mon 23 Dec, 10am-9pm, Victoria Square and New Street

Birmingham Christmas Market: copyright Birmingham Mail

Kenilworth

 Kenilworth's Abbey End Christmas Market
Sat 30 Nov, 9am-3pm

Carols at the Abbey
Sat 21 Dec, 6pm-7pm

Duck Race
Thu 26 Dec, 12pm, Ford to Abbey Fields

Kenilworth lights switch on: copyright Kenilworth Weekly News

Travel

We recommend you double-check all bus and train timetables before departing to make sure you arrive at your destination on time. There is likely to be no public transport anywhere on 25 December and a reduced service on trains and buses on other days (particularly 26 December and 1 January).

Shuttlebus

Tue 24 Dec to Wed 1 Jan the shuttle service will not operate

Thu 2 Jan Back to normal opening times

Note: To help serve the extended Postroom hours during the Holiday period, the B service will be extended until 8:00 pm

Warwick Conferences
Fri 13 Dec - Thu 19 Dec, students and staff can take advantage of further discounted B&B rates. During this period rooms will be £40 including VAT.