Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research Fellows

The CSR keenly supports Early Career researchers

We have hosted Fellowships and Research Associateships thanks to funding from the AHRC, the Leverhulme Trust, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the MHRA, and Warwick's own Institute for Advanced Study. Many of our former postdoctoral fellows and research associates have subsequently gone on to build successful academic careers.

Project-related postdoctoral fellowships, often for one, two or three years, are advertised via our own website, Warwick’s Human Resources department, and other relevant channels, such as

From time to time the CSR also selectively supports outstanding candidates for national and international funding schemes (such as the British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowships, the Leverhulme Early Career Fellowships, Marie Sklodowska Curie, the AHRC Early Careers route or the Newton International Fellowships).

The CSR welcomes enquiries from prospective postdoctoral researchers. Before contacting us, please do check carefully the eligibility criteria and deadlines for any relevant scheme. All research proposals should fall within, or neatly complement, the current expertise and research interests of the CSR. Please see our staff list and research project pages for more details. We regret we will not be able to respond to last-minute enquiries.

The Warwick Institute of Advanced Study is designed to promote collaborative research projects of international calibre and profile. It operates across the full range of University Departments, Schools and Research Centres. Information regarding the research of our current IAS and Leverhulme postdoctoral fellows can be found by clicking on their names:
Dr Claudia Daniotti (Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship)
Claudia has just joined the Centre (April 2020) as she embarks on a 3yr Leverhulme-funded fellowship, working with Dr Giorgio Tagliaferro. Her project is entitled, ‘Morally Ambiguous Ancient Women in European Art, c. 1350-1620’.

Dr Esther van Raasmsdonk (British Academy Fellowship)
Esther joined the Centre in January 2020 as she embarks on a 3yr British Academy Fellowship, working with Dr Paul Botley. Her project is entitled, 'The Politics of Biblical Narrative in a Seventeenth-Century Anglo-Dutch Context’.

Dr Lucy Rayfield (MHRA Research Fellow)

Lucy joined the Centre as a Research Fellow in October 2019, after being awarded the MHRA Research Scholarship in the Modern European Languages. She is working on her first book, Poetics, Politics and Performance in French and Italian Renaissance Comedy which is a comparative study of French and Italian comic theatre in the sixteenth century.

Dr Emil Rybczak (MHRA Research Fellow)

Emil joined the Centre in October 2018, working on the Oxford University Press The Complete Works of James Shirley.

Dr Marta Celati (Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship)

Marta joined the Centre in October 2018 and her project is entitled, ‘The ‘Mirror’ of History. Prince and Tyrant in Italian Renaissance Literature, between Political Theory and Historiography’.

Dr Bobby Xinyue (British Academy Fellowship)

Bobby is a British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow working on Neo-Latin literature with Professor Ingrid De Smet. His project, ‘Redesigning Time: Ovid’s Fasti and the Politics of Renaissance Poetic Calendars’, explores how Renaissance writers from across Europe used the calendar as a literary form to advance rivalling ideas about cultural identity.

(For research at the Newberry Library and / or the Singleton Center, Johns Hopkins University)
Early Careers Club
Previous researchers at the Renaissance Centre include:

Dr Felicita Tramontana (Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow)

'Migration in the early modern world: the Franciscans of the Custody of the Holy Land as a facilitator of the circulation of people in the Mediterranean' 2016-2018 

Dr Sara Trevisan (Leverhulme Research Fellow who worked on 'The Culture of Royal Genealogy in Early Modern Britain,' 2016-18) 

Dr Giacomo Comiati (AHRC Research Fellow, working on the 'Petrarch' project during 2017)

Dr Máté Vince (Leverhulme Research Fellow 2014-2017, working on the Research project, 'The Correspondence of Isaac Casaubon,1610-1614')

Dr Alexander Russell (Leverhulme Research Fellow 2013-2016, and in 2017, working on the 'Cryfield Grange' project)

Dr Jacomien Prins (IAS Global Fellowship) 2012-2016

Dr Femke Molekamp (IAS Global Fellowship) 2012-2016

Dr Eugenio Refini, (Vernacular Aristotelianism project 2010-2013)

Dr Eva Del Soldato (Marie Curie Fellowship, 2012-2013)

Dr Sara Barker, (Renaissance Cultural Crossroads project 2009-2010)

Dr Demmy R Verbeke , (Renaissance Cultural Crossroads project 2007-2008)