Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research Seminars 2015-16

Unless otherwise indicated, seminars start at 5pm and will take place in room F37.

Autumn Term

Wednesday 28th October
Brenda Machosky (University of Hawaii)
Looking Back to Look Forward: A Reconsideration of Ancient Gwion Gwion Rock Art

Wednesday 4th November
Nick Ridout (Queen Mary, University of London)
Entertainment After Empire: Goodspeed You! Black Emperor on Stage
NB. Millburn House Seminar: 5.15pm in A0.28, Millburn House
 
Thursday 5th November 
Kate Retford (Birkbeck College, University of London)
'Light Incidents': Humour and the Conversation Piece in Eighteenth-Century England
NB. Eigtheenth-Century Centre Seminar: 5.15 pm in room H3.03, Humanities Building

Wednesday 25th November
Claire FitzGerald (University of Warwick)
Shedding Light on Arts and Crafts Stained Glass Making in the Twentieth Century

Wednesday 9th December
Diane James (University of Warwick)
'A Tribute of Respect to Warren Hastings': Major John Osborne's 'Hindoo' Temple at Melchet Park

 

Spring Term

Wednesday 13th January
Donal Cooper (University of Cambridge)
The Frari Revisited: The Experience of Sacred Art in Renaissance Venice

Wednesday 27th January
Catherine Whistler (Ashmolean Museum)
Reflections on "Titian to Canaletto: Drawing in Venice"

Wednesday 10th February (Millburn House seminar, 5.15pm A.028)
John David Rhodes (University of Sussex)
The Spectacle of Property

Wednesday 2nd March
Anne Musset (University of Warwick)
"An iron race in iron clad": Dressing the nation in King John and Edward the Black Prince (1777-1826).

Wednesday 16th March
Carlo Avilio (University of Warwick)
Painting Experience: Ribera's Series of the Five Senses


Summer Term

Wednesday 4th May
Alexandra Parigoris (University of Leeds)
Making Friends at the Galerie Maeght: Chillida and Braque

Tuesday 24th May
Postgraduate Conference - full day event, details tbc

Wednesday 25th May
Millburn Seminar, details tbc.



 
 

Conversation