Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WMI Seminar List

Seminar List Entry | Seminar List Update | Seminars by subject
Monday, 20 January, 2020 — Thursday, 23 January, 2020 
Organisers: Yuri Lima, Ian Melbourne — Statistical aspects of geodesic flows in nonpositive curvature
Thursday, 23 January, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Statistical Mechanics
Fabio Cunden (University College Dublin) — Free fermions and -determinantal processes
Friday, 24 January, 2020, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Mathematics
Raphael Hauser (Oxford) — MOSES: A Streaming Algorithm for Linear Dimensionality Reduction
Friday, 24 January, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Peter Ashwin (Exeter) — Tipping points of nonautonomous dynamical systems: from theory to application
Monday, 27 January, 2020, Room B3.02 MiR@W Day
Organisers: Bazil Sansom, Robert MacKay — Supply Networks
Tuesday, 28 January, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Arturo Viero (Barcelona) — TBA
Tuesday, 28 January, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.03 DIMAP seminar
Lena Yuditsky (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev) — The $\epsilon$-$t$-Net Problem
Thursday, 30 January, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Statistical Mechanics
Dirk Zeindler (University of Lancaster) — Random permutations with logarithmic cycle weights
Thursday, 30 January, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Algebra seminar
Emanuele Dotto (Warwick) — Witt Vectors with Coefficients and Characteristic Polynomials over Noncommutative Rings
Thursday, 30 January, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Analysis seminar
Spencer Becker-Kahn (Cambridge) — Stationary varifolds near multiplicity two planes
Friday, 31 January, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
John Parker (Durham) — �Kleinian groups with two parabolic generators
Monday, 3 February, 2020, Room B3.02 MiR@W Day
Organiser: Colm Connaughton — MathSys MSc group projects
Tuesday, 4 February, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Olivier Glorieux (IHES) — TBA
Thursday, 6 February, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Statistical Mechanics
Jhih-Huang Li (University of Warwick) — Phase transition in (1+1)-dimensional quantum random-cluster model
Thursday, 6 February, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Algebra seminar
Sergey Oblezin (Nottingham) — Normalisers of Maximal Tori in Complex Reductive Groups
Friday, 7 February, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Gabriel Paternain (Cambridge) — The non-abelian X-ray transform
Thursday, 13 February, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04  Statistical Mechanics
Benjamin Morris (University of Nottingham) — The quantum Gibbs paradox
Thursday, 13 February, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Analysis seminar
Giacomo del Nin (Warwick) — https://warwickacuk/fac/sci/maths/research/events/seminars/areas/analysis/19-20/
Tuesday, 18 February, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Catherine Bruce (Manchester) — TBA
Friday, 21 February, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Peter Kropholler (Southampton) — TBA
Tuesday, 25 February, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Natalia Jurga (Surrey) — TBA
Friday, 28 February, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Benedikt Wirth (Munster) — TBA
Monday, 2 March, 2020, Room B3.02 MiR@W Day
Organisers: Dimitri Veras, Robert MacKay — The Three Body Problem: Application to Satellites, Planets and Stars
Friday, 6 March, 2020, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Gunnar Carlsson (Stanford) — TBA
Monday, 9 March, 2020, Room B3.02 MiR@W Day
Organisers: David Rand, Meritxell Saez — Understanding cellular decision-making: designing data-analytics for single cell data
Tuesday, 10 March, 2020, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Jon Chaika (Utah) — TBA
Monday, 27 April, 2020, Room B3.02 MiR@W Day
Organiser: David Mond — Climate Change, Attribution Science and the Law
Monday, 11 May, 2020 — Friday, 15 May, 2020 
Organisers: J. Berndt, J. Bolton, K.D.Elworthy, Martin Guest, Xue Mei Li, Y. Maeda — Geometry, Stochastics, & Dynamics: Celebrating 20 years of UK-Japan Winter Schools
Monday, 18 May, 2020, Room B3.02 MiR@W Day
Organisers: Ian Melbourne, Roger Farmer — Ergodicity

Last updated:  21 January 2020, 16:38