Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Our Seminars & Workshops

Seminars

Workshops

Select tags to filter on
  More events Jump to any date
 
Thu 20 Jan, '22
-
Seminar - Iain Bamford (Columbia)
via MS Teams
Fri 21 Jan, '22
-
Seminar - Alkis Georgiadis-Harris (LSE)
via MS Teams

Title of paper: Information Acquisition and the Timing of Actions

This paper develops a dynamic model of information acquisition, in which the decision maker lacks control over the timing of their action. It characterizes the optimal dynamic experiment when the decision maker can flexibly choose all relevant aspects of the information they acquire. The cost of an experiment depends on the quantity of information it produces. At the optimum, the decision maker concentrates resources in generating a single piece of breakthrough news, contradicting their plan of action. In the absence of such news, the decision maker becomes more confident in their intentions. This leads them to sacrifice the frequency with which breakthroughs arrive in order to increase their impact on choice behaviour. These are in stark contrast with the case where the timing of actions is endogenous, in which breakthroughs confirm beliefs, and the resolution of the trade-off between frequency and precision is reversed.

Time to be confirmed.

Fri 21 Jan, '22
-
SET - "Not-The-2022-Theory-Market" - Sara Shahanaghi (Columbia)
via Zoom
Mon 24 Jan, '22
-
SET - "Not-The-2022-Theory-Market" - Daniel Clark (MIT)
via Zoom

Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85257798189?pwd=emw0WE4rb2hSV2JmcVNpcGd1VFhBUT09
Meeting ID: 852 5779 8189
Passcode: SET2022


Mon 24 Jan, '22
-
Seminar - Tom Schmitz (Bocconi)
via MS Teams
Wed 26 Jan, '22
-
SET - "Not-The-2022-Theory-Market" - Jaden Chen (Cornell)
via Zoom

Jaden Chen (Cornell University), Title TBA

Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85257798189?pwd=emw0WE4rb2hSV2JmcVNpcGd1VFhBUT09
Meeting ID: 852 5779 8189
Passcode: SET2022


Fri 28 Jan, '22
-
SET - "Not-The-2022-Theory-Market" - Ravi Jagadeesan (Stanford)
via Zoom

Ravi Jagadeesan (Stanford University), Title TBA

Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85257798189?pwd=emw0WE4rb2hSV2JmcVNpcGd1VFhBUT09
Meeting ID: 852 5779 8189
Passcode: SET2022


Wed 2 Feb, '22
-
Teaching & Learning Seminar
via MS Teams
Wed 16 Feb, '22
-
Teaching & Learning Seminar
via MS Teams
Thu 17 Feb, '22
-
Macro/International Economics Seminar - Isabela Manelici (LSE)
TBA

Isabela will be visiting the department for this Seminar - Dennis Novy will be hosting this visit.

Title to be advised.

Tue 22 Feb, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Michela Tincani (UCL)
S2.79
Thu 24 Feb, '22
-
Macro/International Seminar - Helene Turon (Bristol)
S2.79
Mon 28 Feb, '22
-
Economic History Seminar - Alex Trew (Glasgow)

Title of paper: The Death and Life of Great British Cities.

Organisers: Bishnupriya Gupta and Claudia Rei

Mon 28 Feb, '22
-
Econometrics Seminar - Xiaoxia Shi (Wisconsin)

This seminar is joint with Bristol University and Warwick will be hosting today's event.

Tue 1 Mar, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Kitt Carpenter (Vanderbilt)
S2.79
Wed 2 Mar, '22
-
Teaching & Learning Seminar
via MS Teams
Thu 3 Mar, '22
-
Political Economy Seminar - Mike Callen (LSE)
Tue 8 Mar, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Craig McIntosh (UCSD)
S2.79
Mon 14 Mar, '22
-
Economic History Seminar - Melanie Xue (LSE)

Organisers: Bishnupriya Gupta and Claudia Rei

Mon 14 Mar, '22
-
Econometrics Seminar - Hiroaki Kaido (Boston U)
via Zoom

This seminar is joint with Bristol University and will be hosting today's event.

Tue 15 Mar, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Will Dobbie (HKS)
S2.79
Wed 16 Mar, '22
-
Teaching & Learning Seminar
via MS Teams
Thu 17 Mar, '22
-
Political Economy Seminar - Marco Manacorda (QMUL)
Thu 17 Mar, '22
-
Macro/International Seminar - Iacopo Mochio (Bristol)
Mon 25 Apr, '22
-
Econometrics Seminar - Andrew Goodman-Bacon (Minneapolis Fed)

This seminar is joint with Bristol University and Warwick will be hosting today's event.

Tue 26 Apr, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Petra Persson (Stanford)
via MS Teams

Title to be advised.

Seminar organisers: Manuel Bagues & Ludovica Gazze

Tue 3 May, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Marcella Alsen (HKS)
S2.79
Mon 9 May, '22
-
Econometrics Seminar - Victor Aguiar (Western Ontario)
via Zoom

This seminar is joint with Bristol University and will be hosting today's event.

Title to be advised.

Tue 10 May, '22
-
Applied Economics, Econometrics & Public Policy (CAGE) Seminar - Guilherme Lichand (Zurich)
S2.79
Thu 12 May, '22
-
Macro/International Economics Seminar - Miguel Leon-Ledesma (Kent)
TBA

Miguel will be visiting the department for this Seminar - Roberto Pancrazi will be hosting this visit.