Skip to main content

Understanding the Evolving Macroeconomy

Project Information

Phase I

 

Phase II

 

Phase I

 

Project Name
Principal Researcher Details

The Macroeconomy and Demographic Change

Professor C Attfield
Department of Economics
University of Bristol
C.Attfield@bristol.ac.uk
Project Website

Geographical specialisation in the UK and the EU: Patterns, Determinants and Implications

Dr Robert Elliot
School of Economic Studies
University of Manchester
robert.elliott@man.ac.uk
Project Website
Centre for Growth and Business Cycle Research

Long Memory and Non-Linear Time Series: Theory and Applications

Professor J E H Davidson
Cardiff Business School
Cardiff University
davidsonje@cardiff.ac.uk
Personal Web Page

Imperfect Financial Markets, Business Cycles, and Growth

Professor E J Driffill
Birkbeck
University of London
jdriffill@econ.bbk.ac.uk
Project Web Site

Economic Policy and Political Myopia

Dr J Dutta
Department of Economics and Politics University of Cambridge
Jd131@econ.cam.ac.uk

Sectoral Transformation and Labour market Flows in the European Union and United States

Professor D Greenaway
Department of Economics
University of Nottingham
David.Greenaway@Nottingham.ac.uk

Back to top

 

Dynamic Common Factor Models for Regional Time Series

Professor A C Harvey
Department of Applied Economics University of Cambridge
Ach34@econ.cam.ac.uk
Andrew Harvey - Web Site
Melvin Weeks - Web Site

Modelling, Forecasting and Policy in the Evolving Macro-Economy

Professor D F Hendry
Department of Economics
Oxford University
david.hendry@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Business Cycle Volatility and Economic Growth: A Comparative Time Series Study

Professor T Mills
Department of Economics
University of Loughborough
T.C.Mills@lboro.ac.uk

Non-linear Adjustment Mechanisms and the Asymmetric Impact of Shocks

Professor David Peel
Cardiff Business School
Cardiff University
Peeld@cardiff.ac.uk

A Comparative Study of the Growth and Performance of the UK and Swedish Economies

Mr C F Pratten
Department of Applied Economics
University of Cambridge
cliff.pratten@econ.cam.ac.uk

Social Security Initiatives and Economic Growth

Dr M A Roberts
School of Economic Studies
University of Nottingham
Mark.Roberts@nott.ac.uk

Back to top

 

The Design of Robust Policy for Inflation Stability and Growth in a Decentralised Economy

Professor Mark Salmon
Financial Econometrics Research Centre
City University Business School
m.salmon@city.ac.uk

Debt Management and Fiscal Insurance

Dr A J Scott
Department of Economics
London Business School
Ascott@lbs.ac.uk

Debt Management and the Evolving Macroeconomy

Dr S Vahey
Department of Applied Economics
University of Cambridge
Sv206@econ.cam.ac.uk

Fluctuations and Long Term Prosperity: A Study of the UK and International Economies

Professor Stephen Hall
Imperial College Management School
Imperial College
s.g.hall@ic.ac.uk

Interaction Between Macroeconomics and Finance

Professor M R Wickens
Department of Economics and Related Studies
University of York
MRW4@york.ac.uk

The Optimal Composition of Government Expenditure: Theory and Evidence

Dr G J Wyatt
Department of Economics
Heriott-Watt University
g.j.wyatt@hw.ac.uk

Back to top

 

Phase II

 

Project Name

Principal Researcher Details

A Quantitative Analysis of Policy Uncertainty and its Impact on Long-Term Economic Growth

Dr Gulcin Ozkan
Department of Economics and Related Studies
University of York
fgo2@york.ac.uk

Agglomeration, Integration and the Macroeconomy

Professor C Pissarides
Department of Economics
London School of Economics
c.pissarides@lse.ac.uk

Imperfect Product and Factor Markets and the Macroeconomy: A Study of Inflation, output Fluctuations and Growth

Professor V Bhaskar
Department of Economics
University of Essex
vbhas@essex.ac.uk
Pesonal Website

Monetary Policy, Business Cycles and Economic Growth

Professor D R Osborn
University of Manchester
Project Website
Centre for Growth and Business Cycle Research

Optimal Consumption Patterns of the Retired with Non-Income Risks: Implications for an Ageing Population

Dr E S Cannon
Department of Economics and Finance
University of Bristol
Edmund.Cannon@bristol.ac.uk

Back to top

 

The Impact of Macro Fundamentals, Market Microstructure and Interventions on Exchange Rates

Professor Charles Goodhart
Economics Department and The Financial Markets Group
London School of Economics
s.vink@lse.ac.uk

International Captial Flows and Macroeconomic Fluctuations

Professor M Hoffmann
University of Dortmund
mathias.hoffmann@wiso.uni-dortmund.de
Personal Web Site (Project Page accessed by the 'Current Research' Link)

Corporate Responses to Macroeconomic Changes and Shocks

Michael Kitson
St Catherine's College
University of Cambridge
mk24@cam.ac.uk

The Predictive Power of Macroeconomic Policy Shocks

Dr A W Mountford
Department of Economics
Royal Holloway College
University of London
A.Mountford@rhbnc.ac.uk

Macroeconomic Influences on Wellbeing

Professor A J Oswald
Department of Economics
University of Warwick
a.j.oswald@warwick.ac.uk

Exchange Rates, International Relative Prices, and Macroeconomic Models

Dr M O Ravn
Department of Economics
London Business School
Mravn@london.edu

Policy Uncertainty, Risk and Growth: Theory and Empirical Evidence

Dr L Sarno
Warwick Business School
University of Warwick

Back to top

 

Episodic Economic Growth Since 1850

Dr S N Solomou
University of Cambridge
Department of Applied Economics
daeadmin@econ.cam.ac.uk

Monetary Policy Design, Institutions and Co-ordination in New Open Economy Models

Professor A J Sutherland
Department of Economics
University of St Andrew
sajs10@st-andrews.ac.uk

Pensions, Means Testing and Early Retirement

Mr M R Weale
National Institute of Economic & Social Research
Mweale@niesr.ac.uk

Multijurisdictional Economies: Trade and Tax/Amenity Competition

Professor M H Wooders
Department of Economics
University of Warwick
M.Wooders@warwick.ac.uk
Project Web Site

Monetary and Fiscal Policy Interactions

Professor Simon Wren-Lewis
Economics Department and The Financial Markets Group
University of Exeter
S.Wren-Lewis@ex.ac.uk
Project Web Site

Back to top