Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Virtual Economic History Seminar 2021

Virtual Economic History Seminar


The Economic History Association and the Cliometric Society sponsor the Virtual Economic History Seminar fortnightly (except in May) on Mondays 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT. Follow us on Twitter

Past series: Spring 2020, Fall 2020

To receive seminar announcements (and registration links) please sign up to the new mailing list

Jan. 25
Walker Hanlon
The Rise of the Engineer: Inventing the Professional Inventor During the Industrial Revolution
-- recording
Feb. 8
Latika Chaudhary

Did Railways Affect Literacy? Evidence from India
(with James Fenske) -- recording

Feb. 22
Sarah Quincy

Income Shocks and Housing Spillovers: Evidence from the World War I Veterans' Bonus
-- recording

Mar. 8
Yoko Okuyama

Empowering Women Through Radio: Evidence from Japan -- recording

Mar. 22
Christine Binzel

Vernacularization and Linguistic Democratization
(with Andreas Link and Rajesh Ramachandran)

Apr. 5
Tianyi Wang
Waves of Empowerment: Black Radio and the Civil Rights Movement -- recording
Apr. 19
Price Fishback
Racial Differences in Access to New Deal Work Relief in 1940
(with Jessamyn Schaller and Evan Taylor)
May 3
Marianne Wanamaker
40 Acres and a Mule: Black Americans' Landholding and Economic Mobility after Emancipation
(with William J. Collins and Nicholas Holtkamp)
May 10 Student session -- STUDENT SUBMISSIONS HERE
May 17
Maggie Jones
Competition and Discrimination in Public Accommodations: Evidence from the Green Books
(with Lisa Cook, Trevon Logan, and David Rose)
May 24 Student session
May 31
Jessica LaVoice
The Long-Run Implications of Slum Clearance: A Neighborhood Analysis
Jun. 14
Kara Dimitriuk
Before Apartheid: Labor Markets, Political Parties and Institutions in 19th-century South Africa


Co-Organised with Katherine Eriksson, Shari Eli, and Taylor Jaworski