Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WMA Graduate Research Seminar, 2023/2024

Research seminar run in conjunction with the WMA Research Centre and open to all philosophy postgraduate students.
If you would like to receive email notifications about the seminar, please email h dot lerman at warwick dot ac dot uk
 
In Summer Term the seminar will take place on Wednesdays, weeks 4-7 and 9, at 14:00-16:00, in room S1.39.
 

In preparation for MindGrad we will dedicate the first 3 sessions to 3 papers by Matt Soteriou and the following 2 session to background reading for Lea Salje's talk.

Week 4: Matt Soteriou, ‘Determining the Future’ [pdf]

Week 5: Matt Soteriou, ‘The past made present: Mental time travel in episodic recollection’ [pdf]

Week 6: Matt Soteriou, ‘Waking Up and Being Conscious' [link]

Week 7: Eli Alshanetsky, Articulating a Thought, Introduction [link] and Chapter 2 'A Puzzle' [link]

Week 9: Alex Byrne, 'Knowing that I'm thinking' [link]

 

Previous Seminars

Select tags to filter on
  More events Jump to any date

How do I use this calendar?

You can click on an event to display further information about it.

The toolbar above the calendar has buttons to view different events. Use the left and right arrow icons to view events in the past and future. The button inbetween returns you to today's view. The button to the right of this shows a mini-calendar to let you quickly jump to any date.

The dropdown box on the right allows you to see a different view of the calendar, such as an agenda or a termly view.

If this calendar has tags, you can use the labelled checkboxes at the top of the page to select just the tags you wish to view, and then click "Show selected". The calendar will be redisplayed with just the events related to these tags, making it easier to find what you're looking for.

 
Tue 1 Nov, '22
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Giorgia Brucato (CEU)

Wed 2 Nov, '22
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Wed 9 Nov, '22
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Fri 11 Nov, '22
-
Chinese Philosophy Seminar Series 2022/23
MS Teams

RegistrationLink opens in a new windowLink opens in a new window

Guest Speaker: Chris Fraser (University of Toronto)

Title: The Xunzian Critique of Legalism and its Contemporary Significance

Tue 15 Nov, '22
-
CELPA Seminar
Online Seminar

Guest Speaker: Paula Casal (UPF)

Wed 16 Nov, '22
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Tue 22 Nov, '22
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Zofia Stemplowska (Oxford)

Tue 29 Nov, '22
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Helen Frowe (Stockholm)

Tue 6 Dec, '22
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Jonathan Parry (LSE)

Fri 9 Dec, '22
-
Chinese Philosophy Seminar Series 2022/23
MS Teams

RegistrationLink opens in a new windowLink opens in a new window

Guest Speaker: Sarah Flavel (Bath Spa University)

Title: Daoism and Strategic Thinking

Tue 10 Jan, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
Online

Guest Speaker: Anca Gheaus (LEU)

Wed 11 Jan, '23
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Tue 17 Jan, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Andrea Sangiovanni (KCL)

Fri 20 Jan, '23
-
Chinese Philosophy Seminar Series 2022/23
MS Teams

RegistrationLink opens in a new windowLink opens in a new window

Guest Speaker: Jingjing Li (Leiden University)

Title: Husserlian Phenomenology, Chinese Buddhism, and The Problem of Essence

Tue 24 Jan, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Charlie Richards (Oxford)

Wed 25 Jan, '23
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Tue 31 Jan, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Luciano Venezia (UNQ)

Tue 7 Feb, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Will Gildea (Warwick)

Wed 8 Feb, '23
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Fri 10 Feb, '23
-
Chinese Philosophy Seminar Series 2022/23
MS Teams

RegistrationLink opens in a new windowLink opens in a new window

Guest Speaker: Paul D’Ambrosio (East China Normal University)

Title: Confucian Contingency Model: Person, Agency, and Morality

Tue 21 Feb, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
Online

Guest Speaker: Rowan Cruft (Stirling)

Wed 22 Feb, '23
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Fri 24 Feb, '23
-
WMA talk
R0.04
Tue 28 Feb, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Ricky Li (Warwick)

Tue 7 Mar, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Kieran Oberman (LSE)

Wed 8 Mar, '23
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
S0.52
Fri 10 Mar, '23
-
Chinese Philosophy Seminar Series 2022/23
MS Teams

RegistrationLink opens in a new windowLink opens in a new window

Guest Speaker: Ai Yuan (Tsinghua University)

Title: Silence in the Analects, Zhuangzi and Yanzi Chunqiu

Tue 14 Mar, '23
-
CELPA Seminar
S2.77

Guest Speaker: Kate Vredenburgh (LSE)

Fri 14 Apr, '23
-
Chinese Philosophy Seminar Series 2022/23
MS Teams

RegistrationLink opens in a new windowLink opens in a new window

Guest Speaker: Yumi Suzuki (Bern University)

Title: Sino-Hellenic Environmental Philosophy: How Did Ancient Chinese and Greek Philosophers Think About the Environment Differently?

Thu 27 Apr, '23
-
Wiggins on Ethics
S2.77

“In Ethics: Twelve Lectures on the Philosophy of Morality, David Wiggin surveys the answers most commonly proposed for such questions—gathering insights from Hume, Kant, the utilitarians, and the post-utilitarian thinkers of the twentieth century. The view of morality he then proposes draws on sources as diverse as Aristotle, Simone Weil and present-day thinkers such as Philippa Foot. As need arises, he pursues a variety of related issues and engages additional thinkers—Plato and Bernard Williams on egoism and altruism, Schopenhauer and Aurel Kolnai on evil, Leibniz and Rawls on impartiality, and Montaigne and J. L. Mackie on ‘moral relativism’, among others.” For the most part, the seminars are planned to takein person, in S2.77, but we move online forsomelater sessions. All colleagues, including undergraduate and postgraduatestudents, are very welcome.

Thursday April 27, 3–5pm: Chapter 1: Glaucon’s and Adeimantus’ interrogation on Socrates

Placeholder