Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research Seminar in Post-Kantian European Philosophy, 2019/2020

Unless otherwise stated, Post-Kantian European Philosophy Research Group seminars take place on Tuesdays, 5:30–7:30pm in Room S0.11 (ground floor of Social Studies). All welcome. For further information, please contact tbc

Select tags to filter on
 
Fri 4 Oct, '19
Workshop on Expression and Self-Knowledge with Dorit Bar-On and Lucy Campbell

Expression and Self-knowledge

Warwick University, Friday 4th October 2019

Humanities H0.03

Programme

11.00 – 12.30
Lucy Campbell (Warwick)
‘Self-knowledge: expression without expressivism’

12.30 – 2.00

Dorit Bar-On (University of Connecticut)
‘No ‘How’ Privileged Self-Knowledge’

3.00 – 4.30

Cristina Borgoni (Bayreuth University)

‘Primitive forms of first-person authority and expressive capacities’

Mon 7 Oct, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
H4.22/4

Reading: Soteriou, M. 'Cartesian Reflections on the Autonomy of the Mental'. [pdf]

Mon 14 Oct, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
H4.22/4.

Readings:

Week 2: Soteriou, M. 'Cartesian Reflections on the Autonomy of the Mental'. [ pdf]

Week 3: Eilan, N. 'On the Paradox of Gestalt Switches: Wittgenstein’s Response to Kohler'. [ pdf]

Week 5: Roessler, J. 'The Silence of Self-Knowledge'. [pdf]

Week 7: Campbell, J. 'Sense, Reference and Selective Attention' [pdf]

Tue 15 Oct, '19
-
Official Launch of the Post-Kantian Research Centre
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Simon Critchley (New School for Social Research): Tragedy, the Greeks and Us

Response by Andrew Cooper (Warwick) and David Fearn (Warwick)

Mon 28 Oct, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
H4.22/4.

Readings:

Week 2: Soteriou, M. 'Cartesian Reflections on the Autonomy of the Mental'. [ pdf]

Week 3: Eilan, N. 'On the Paradox of Gestalt Switches: Wittgenstein’s Response to Kohler'. [ pdf]

Week 5: Roessler, J. 'The Silence of Self-Knowledge'. [pdf]

Week 7: Campbell, J. 'Sense, Reference and Selective Attention' [pdf]

Tue 29 Oct, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Stephen Houlgate (Warwick)

Title: Kant and Hegel on the Antinomies of Reason

Mon 11 Nov, '19
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar
H4.22/4.

Readings:

Week 2: Soteriou, M. 'Cartesian Reflections on the Autonomy of the Mental'. [ pdf]

Week 3: Eilan, N. 'On the Paradox of Gestalt Switches: Wittgenstein’s Response to Kohler'. [ pdf]

Week 5: Roessler, J. 'The Silence of Self-Knowledge'. [pdf]

Week 7: Campbell, J. 'Sense, Reference and Selective Attention' [pdf]

Tue 19 Nov, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Beatrice Han-Pile (Essex)

Title: 'The Doing Is Everything': A Middle-Voiced Reading of Agency in Nietzsche

Mon 25 Nov, '19
-
WMA graduate research seminar
S2.64
Tue 26 Nov, '19
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Jeffrey A. Bell (Southeastern Louisiana University)

Title: 'Towards a Deleuzian-Humean Political Theory'

Thu 28 Nov, '19
London-Warwick Mind Forum: London

The forum will take place at LSE, London. The event is free and does not require registration.

CFA details and updates about the event will be published here: https://lwmindforum.wordpress.com/.

For further info, email: m.corrado@warwick.ac.uk

Sat 7 Dec, '19 - Sun 8 Dec, '19
10am - 11am
MindGrad 2019
MS.03

Runs from Saturday, December 07 to Sunday, December 08.

MINDGRAD 2019: OURSELVES AND OTHERS

Warwick Graduate Conference in the Philosophy of Mind

7th-8th December 2019, University of Warwick (UK)

Invited speakers:
Dr Stina Bäckström - Södertörn University
Professor Matthew Boyle - University of Chicago
Professor Jane Heal - University of Cambridge
Dr Joel Smith - University of Manchester

Wed 8 Jan, '20
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.39
Tue 21 Jan, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Guest Speakers:

Daniele Lorenzini  (Warwick)

Title: Genealogy, Possibilization, and (Post-)Critique

 David Owen (Southampton)

Title: Genealogy as Re-Problematization: Autonomy, Aspect-Change and Limits

Wed 29 Jan, '20
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.39
Tue 4 Feb, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Nina Power (Roehampton)

Title: 'Philosophies of the Wolf: Freud and Deleuze & Guattari

Tue 18 Feb, '20
-
Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar
Room S0.11, Social Sciences Building

Speaker: Simone Kotva (Cambridge)

Title: 'An Enquiry Concerning Non-Human Understanding: Philosophy, Ecstasy and Ecological Thinking'

Wed 19 Feb, '20
-
CANCELLED: WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.50.
Tue 3 Mar, '20
-
CANCELLED: Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar

Bergson on Time and Freedom

With Keith Ansell-Pearson (Warwick), Emily Herring (Leeds) and Mark Sinclair (Roehampton)

Wed 4 Mar, '20
-
WMA Graduate Research Seminar - Reading Michael Ayers' Knowing and Seeing
S1.39
Mon 9 Mar, '20
Workshop with Richard Moore

Details TBC

Wed 18 Mar, '20
-
CANCELLED: Bart Geurts: First saying, then believing
First saying, then believing: the pragmatic roots of folk psychology
Bart Geurts, Nijmegen
Cowling room, 18th March, 3 pm
Tue 24 Mar, '20
POSTPONED / Enquiry Workshop
S2.81
Mon 30 Mar, '20
CANCELLED: On being a Believer: Workshop with David Hunter

Workshop with David Hunter on his forthcoming book On being a believer.

Further info TBA

Contact: Johannes Roessler

Tue 14 Apr, '20 - Wed 15 Apr, '20
All-day
CANCELLED: Knowledge and Belief Conference
MS.04, Zeeman Building, University of Warwick

Runs from Tuesday, April 14 to Wednesday, April 15.

Philosophy and Empirical Perspectives

Interdisciplinary conference

Speakers:
Rachel Dudley, Kati Farkas, John Hyman (tbc), Guy Longworth, Eva Rafetseder, Paul Silva, and Simon Wimmer.

Thu 16 Apr, '20
-
CANCELLED: Katalin Farkas: The Unity of Knowledge

Katalin Farkas, CEU

16th April 2020, Cowling Room
Contact: Lucy Campbell
Mon 27 Apr, '20
-
CANCELLED: Conference: The Cultural Origins of Human Mind-Reading

The Cultural Origins of Human Mind-Reading
27th April 2020
Contact: Richard Moore
Speakers: Richard Moore, Cecilia Heyes, Paula Rubio Fernandez, Steve Butterfill.
Wed 6 May, '20
-
Commitment lab meeting
Contact: Matt Chennels
Fri 8 May, '20
-
The Communicative Mind reading group
Contact: Richard Moore

 

Fri 8 May, '20
-
Truth and Truthfulness Webinar: Chapter 2: Geneology - All Students Welcome
By Zoom

Text: 'Truth and Truthfulness' by Bernard Williams (2002)