Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Warwick Award for Teaching Excellence results announced

The winners of the 2007/08 Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence have been announced. This award provides recognition for people who teach, or support student learning at the University of Warwick.

The successful nominees are Peter Abrahams from Warwick Medical School, Tony Howard of the Creativity & Performance in Teaching and Learning (CAPITAL) centre, Robert O’Toole of the Arts Faculty and ITS, Ann Jackson from Warwick Medical School, Paul Raffield from the Law School, and Sean Allan who teaches German in the Languages Department.

The winners were each awarded £5000 to help them further enhance their teaching practice, and commendees received £2000.

Professor Abrahams received his award within a year of joining Warwick Medical School. He says: “I’m thrilled about the award because the nomination came from the students.”

“This University has a very positive attitude towards teaching,” he adds. “This is very important because it encourages people to improve their teaching practice, and the students know that they are receiving quality teaching.

Robert O’Toole was also pleased to receive his award. As he explains: “I think these awards are really important. There are a lot of people at the university who do a lot of good work, and these awards are great for picking up on this and showcasing it to the university.

“It’s a way for people to see what’s going on, and to see how they can do the same.

In addition, Salvador Ortiz-Carboneres, who teaches Spanish in the Languages Department, received a Lifetime Achievement Award, the first award of its kind to be presented.

Please visit the Learning Development Centre for full details of the Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence.