Skip to main content Skip to navigation

1.7 The Council and its Committees

The Council

Membership 2014-2015

Ex Officio Members


The Pro-Chancellor

Chair: Sir George Cox

The Vice-Chancellor

Professor Sir Nigel Thrift

The Treasurer

Mr Keith Bedell-Pearce

The Provost

Professor Stuart Croft

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors

Professor Christina Hughes
Professor Tim Jones



Appointed members


Up to four academic members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate:

Professor Christopher Hughes (2016)
Professor Abhinay Muthoo (2017)
Professor Pam Thomas (2017)
Professor Peter Winstanley (2016)

One member of the non-academic staff of the University appointed by the Senate:

Mr Alan Rivett (2016)



Lay Members


Such other persons not being members of the academic staff or salaried officers or students of the University and not exceeding twelve in all, as may be appointed by the Council:

Dame Fiona Caldicott (2016)
Ms Viki Cooke (2016) (Vice Chair)
Mr Patrick Dunne (2015)
Mrs Penny Egan (2015)
Ms Trudi Elliott (2015)
Dr John Ferrie (2017)
Ms Joan MacNaughton (2017)



Student Members


The President of the Union of Students

Ms Cat Turhan (2015)

One student elected by the Union of Students

Mr Rob Ankcorn (2015)


(The year in brackets after the member's name indicates the year in which their appointment expires)

Council Committees