Skip to main content Skip to navigation

The University's Charitable Status

The University is an exempt charity. The Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) was the “principal regulator” for charity law purposes of those English universities which were exempt charities between 1 June 2010 and 31 March 2018. Since 1 April 2018 HEFCE has been replaced by the Office for Students (OfS) as the principal regulator and the University continues to be an exempt charity under these new regulatory arrangements.

The OfS set out a number of information requirements on institutions with exempt charity status and this information is provided as follows:

1. Name and Address

The legal name and correspondence address of the University of Warwick is as follows:

University of Warwick

2. Charter and Statutes

The University's legal status derives from a Royal Charter originally granted in March 1965. The Charter, and accompanying Statutes, set out the powers and purpose of the University and define how it is governed. The Charter and Statutes also form the basis of the University’s Ordinances and Regulations, which set out, in detail, the rules of conduct for University business.

The Charter and Statutes are maintained by the Council and any amendments require the approval of the Privy Council (a formal body of advisers to the Sovereign of the UK).

The current version of the Charter and Statutes were amended with effect from 13 February 2019. The amendments followed a review of the University’s Governing Instruments in 2018/19, which aimed to modernise and simplify the University’s governing documents. The current version of the Charter and Statutes can be found here.

3. Financial Statements

The University's financial statements can be found on the Statutory Accounts web page. The University's public benefit statement is included in the financial statements.

The financial statements include information in relation to the University's linked charity, University of Warwick Foundation Trust. Further information about the University of Warwick Foundation Trust is also available on the Warwick Foundation web page.

4. Governing Body

The governing body of the University is the Council and its members, who are its trustees can be found below, together with information on the other charities (if any) of which they are also trustees.

  Member of Council Charities of which Members are Trustees
The Pro-Chancellor: Chair: Sir David Normington University of Warwick Foundation Trust
Vice-Chair Jayne Nickalls  
The Vice-Chancellor and President: Professor Stuart Croft University of Warwick Foundation Trust
The Treasurer: Neil Sachdev

Westonbirt, The National Arboretum

Nuffield Health

The Provost: Professor Emma Flynn  
Up to four academic members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate: Professor David Davies


  Professor Nina-Anne Lawrence  
  Professor Andrew Lockett  
  Professor Mark Newton  
One member of staff from the professional services of the University appointed by the Council: Sam Parr  
Such other persons not being members of the academic staff or salaried officers or students of the University and not exceeding 9 (such that the total independent representation, including ex-officio membership, shall not exceed 13 in all), appointed by the Council: Louise Ainsworth  
Yewande Akinola

The Institution of Engineering and Technology

Junaid Bajwa

UCLH Charity

Governor of Nuffield Health

Bal Claire London Telecommunications Region Amateur Sports Association - Chair
James Furse China Exchange
Kate Holden  
Richard Hyde Chair of the Editorial Panel of Thinkhouse
Adrian Penfold  
Maya Prabhu

Family Firm Institute, USA

The Housing Collective, USA

London Musical Theatre Orchestra, UK

Wayne Snow Trustee of Queer Britain Limited
The President of the Union of Students: Anna Taylor Warwick SU
One student elected by the Union of Students: Sophie Clark Warwick SU