Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Winners of the 2014 Research Impact and Public Engagement Awards Announced

The winners of the 2014 Research Impact and Public Engagement Awards were announced by the Provost, Stuart Croft, and Pro-Vice-Chancellors Simon Swain and Christina Hughes on Thursday 3 July. Staff and PG students, from across the University gathered in the Physics Concourse at a reception to hear the winners announced .

The winners were:

Arts Faculty: Public Engagement

Kate Astbury - The Spectacle of the French Revolution

Arts Faculty Research Impact: Established Career

David Anderson - Torture, Colonial Abuse and Britain's Secret Archives

Faculty of Medicine: Public Engagement

Chet Trivedy - Cricket Health Initiative

Faculty of Science: Public Engagement

Margaret Low - Technology Volunteers

Faculty of Science: Research Impact (Established Career)

Dieter Wolke - Prenatal and Family Precursors of Bullying Involvement in Childhood and their Consequences into Early Adulthood

Faculty of Social Sciences Research Impact (Established Career)

Anne Green: Skills and Economic Development

Faculty of Social Sciences: Public Engagement

Dennis Novy: The House of Lords and Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership

Faculty of Social Sciences Research Impact: Early Career

Natalie Byrom: Access to Justice and the Impact of Legal Aid Cuts

These awards recognise researchers for the time, hard work and consideration they put into engaging the public with the benefits of their research, and to recognise the myriad ways in which all staff and students at the University engage with local communities and businesses to improve people’s lives – in the region, in the UK and globally.

The Research Impact and Public Engagement Awards build on the Arts Impact Awards and the Research Impact Awards in the Social Sciences Faculty by spanning across all four faculties, and including, for the first time, a Public Engagement category.



Join the Public Engagement Network here to find out more about public engagement events and opportunities.

Kate Astbury

Kate Astbury

David Anderson


Chet Trivedy


Margaret Low


Dieter Wolke