Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Honorary Fellows and Professors


Professor Vivian Nutton: The Department of History, Department of Classics and Ancient History, with the Centre for the History of Medicine, are delighted to announce Professor Vivian Nutton as an Honorary Professor.

Vivian Nutton was for ten years a Fellow in Classics at Selwyn College Cambridge, teaching ancient history , before moving in 1977 to UCL and the then Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine. He remained there until his retirement in 2009, heading the Academic Unit from 1996 to 2000. A Fellow of the British Academy, the Academia Europaea, and the German Academy of Science, he has written extensively on all aspects of the history of medicine from Classical Antiquity to the seventeenth century. Galen of Pergamum (129-216) has been at the centre of his interests, ever since his edition of On prognosis (1979). His editio princeps of On my own opinions appeared in 1999, and that of On problematical movements in 2011. His annotated translation of Avoiding distress is scheduled to appear in 2012. He has published a major edition and translation of the renaissance doctor Girolamo Mercuriale’s De arte gymnastica (2008), as well as important studies of renaissance plague and civic physicians. 2012 should see his analysis of the newly discovered notes and drawings of Andreas Vesalius for a never published third edition of his De humani corporis fabrica (1543, 1555), the most famous of all books on anatomy. He is also preparing a revision of his 2004 Ancient medicine, as well as the introduction to a volume of medical papyri from Oxyrhynchus.

Honorary Fellow: Dr Rupert Whitaker is the founder and chairman of the Tuke Institute. For almost 30 years, he has worked in the fields of medicine and community advocacy with a keen focus on empowering individuals to care for their own health. Following the death of his partner Terry Higgins from AIDS in 1982, he co-founded the Terrence Higgins TrustLink opens in a new window—now Europe’s leading HIV and sexual health charity—and helped establish the prevention, mental health, and peer-led social services there. He has been a leading civil advocate for people with HIV and chronic illness, appearing on television and in the news-media with his expertise and personal experiences since the early 1980s.


Honorary Fellow: Professor Jan Goldstein (Department of History, University of Chicago) is perhaps best known for her book Console and Classify: The French Psychiatric Profession in the Nineteenth Century (Cambridge, 1987) and her edited volume Foucault and the Writing of History (Blackwell, 1994). In 2005 Harvard University Press published The Post-Revolutionary Self: Politics and Psyche in France, 1750-1850, and she is currently working on a study (and English translation) of a manuscript case history of 'hysteria complicated by ecstasy' in a Savoyard peasant girl in the 1820s. Professor Goldstein was a visting scholar in the Centre in 2005, and presented work on both these topics.

Honorary Fellow: Dr David Wright (now Associate Fellow) is Professor of History and Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in the History of Health Policy at McGill University in Montreal. He has published eight books and three dozen articles on the history of mental hospitals and psychiatric disorders, including his latest book: DOWNS: the history of a disability (Oxford, 2011). He is currently working on a project exploring the historical and public policy implications of the globalization of health human resources in the second half of the twentieth century. Dr Wright was a visiting scholar in the Centre in 2004.