Skip to main content Skip to navigation

WATE Shortlist 2024

Congratulations to all shortlisted nominees

We are excited to announce the 2024 shortlist for the Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence.

With more than 115 excellent educators, teams, and communities to choose from, the WATE judging panels deliberated long and hard to identify those going through to the next round of the Faculty, Collaborative, Community & Culture and Postgraduates who teach awards.

Thank you to the hundreds of people who took the time to make a nomination, and huge congratulations to everyone nominated for an award.

The winners will be announced on 21 June 2024.

Faculty awards

the shortlist

Arts Faculty award

Ian Farnell (SCAPVC)

Yinghong Shang (School of Modern Languages and Cultures)

Ronan Hatfull (SCAPVC)

Nancy Haijing Jiang (English and Comparative Literary Studies)

Freya Verlander (SCAPVC)

Michael Meeuwis (English)

the shortlist

Social Sciences Faculty award

Sivamohan Valluvan (Sociology)

Jenny Lloyd (Warwick Business School)

Emma Austin (School of Law)

Kerem Öge (Politics)

Rachael Blakey (School of Law)

the shortlist

SEM Faculty award

Tom Ritchie (Chemistry)

Jianhua Yang (Warwick Manufacturing Group)

Robert Huckstep (Life Sciences)

Alex Baker (Chemistry)

Luke Hodson (Psychology)

Helen Strachan-Jones (Warwick Medical School)

the shortlist

Collaborative award

Values based pedagogy in sports coaching

Designing Together Team

Academic Integrity Celebration Week Team

WMS Anatomy team

Life Sciences first year tutorial team

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Teaching team

WBS T&L and Learning Development (T&LD)

the shortlist

Community & Culture award

Abbotswood Medical Centre, part of Warwick Medical School

WBS Masters Management and Operations sub teams

the shortlist

WAPTE award

Postgraduates who teach award

the shortlist


Aman Sinha (English)

Owain Burrell (English)

Andy Irwin (English)

Elizabeth Sharrock (English)

Hande Cayir (Film and TV)

Bryony Wilde (History of Art)

the shortlist

Social Sciences

Gabriel Du Plessis (Sociology)

Carys Hill (Sociology)

Bruna Picas Prats (Philosophy)

Dimitrios Karagiannis (WBS),

Yiran Xu (WBS)

Hrafnhildur Ragnarsdottir (PAIS)

Mostyn Taylor Crockett (PAIS)

the shortlist


Owen Tooley (Chemistry)

Mabilly Cox (Chemistry)

Zhizhuo Su (WMG)

Amir Cheshmehzangi (WMG)

Jacob Young (Physics)

Aline Bendt (Physics)