Skip to main content Skip to navigation

IOP Plasma Physics Conference 2009

2009 IOP Plasma physics conference

The University of Warwick

Monday 30th March - Thursday 2nd April 2009


The Satellite Workshops

"Instabilities and Turbulence in Fusion Plasmas" - Thursday 2- Friday 3rd April 2009

The 36th IOP Annual Conference on Plasma Physics is an ideal opportunity for plasma physicists from all areas such as Magnetic fusion, High energy density, Laser plasmas, Astrophysics, Low temperature and dusty plasmas to meet and discuss ideas and recent developments. Young researchers are particularly encouraged with reduced rates available for students. Additionally a satelite workshop will be organized that deals specifically with instabilities and turbulence in magnetised plasma. To find information on this workshop use the link above.

The IOP conference consists of morning and afternoon sessions of contributed and invited talks. It will start on Monday at 11.00 with coffee and registration. The first talks will be after lunch and the conference will end on Thursday again with a lunch. On both Monday and Tuesday the day ends with a reception / buffet with posters, and a conference dinner will be organized on Wednesday. Information on the registration fee and the web interface for online registration will appear soon on this website.


Latest news:

The final program is here

The list of posters and distribution over the days is here


Invited speakers

Dr. Y. Camenen (University of Warwick) Effect of the Coriolis drift on turbulent cross-field transport in magnetized plasmas.

Dr. M. Coppins (Imperial College) Modelling dust in tokamak: the critical issues

Dr. D. Dudson (University of York) Edge Localised modes: Experiment and Simulation

Dr. G. Gregori (University of Oxford) Probing the static and dynamic response of warm dense matter

Dr. A. Grinenko (University of Warwick) Dynamic compression driven by heavy ion beams

Dr. H. Potts (University of Glasgow) Audio reproduction from atmospheric pressure plasmas

Dr. A.J. Kavanagh (Lancaster University) Plasma Physics in the great outdoors

Prof. Koepke (West Virginia University, US) TBA

Dr. K. Lancaster (RAL) Developments in fast ignition and the future of intertial fusion energy

Dr. N. Loureiro (UKAEA Culham) The effect of turbulence on magnetic reconnection

Dr. S.D. Pinches (UKAEA Culham) The physics of fast ion driven instabilities in fusion plasmas

Dr. S.W. Rowe (Schneider elec, Switzerland) Dynamic Plasma Sheath Breakdown in HV Vacuum Circuit Breakers


The Program

The program (in pdf format) is available here. NOTE : This program will be distributed in printed form at the conference


Important dates

Deadline submission abstracts - 1st February 2009 go here for abstract submission

Communication on acceptance oral / poster - 21st February 2009

Deadline registration - 7th March 2009 go here for registration



At conference a prize will be presented to the author of best thesis of 2007-8, as adjudicated by a panel of three judges. The recipient will give an invited presentation of their results.



A prize of £200 will be given for the best student poster. This will be judged at the student reception poster session on Tuesday, with the prize to be awarded before the end of the meeting. The winning entry should demonstrate a lively and clear elucidation of the physics, that makes a significant contribution to the field.


Information for Contributors

All contributed talks should last a maximum of 20 minutes which includes time for questions. Therefore we would suggest a 15-17 minute talk allowing 3-5 minutes for questions. Invited talks have a duration of 30+10 minutes.

Contributors wishing to submit a poster for the conference should make their poster A0 in size and landscape in orientation.


Conference fees

PhD student (IOP member) £50

PhD student (non IOP member) £ 120

Participant (IOP member) £ 180

Participant (non IOP member) £ 250

Fee for the satellite meeting £ 40

Stay in Warwick University £ 60 per night (a limited number of places is available)


Local organizing committee

Dr A.G. Peeters, Dr. J. Vorberger, Mr. J. Cook

Physics department,

University of Warwick

CV4 7AL Coventry



Directions and visitor information



to Warwick University 

Interactive Campus Map

(put PLT into the search window)



Registration will take place on the physics concourse which is on the main level in the Physics Building!

(East side of building 43 on the map in the conference program)