Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Staff & Student News

Feature News

In the Press

Research Updates

Learn more about Advancement and Innovation for Detectors at Accelerators (AIDAinnova) project

Dr John Marshall and Dr John Back are working as part of the AIDAinnova programme to further the development of the Pandora pattern-recognition software. They are developing algorithms to interpret highly-complex images of neutrino interactions in the detectors that will be deployed for the Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, DUNE. Their software uses a careful blend of sophisticated clustering algorithms and machine-learning approaches.

The Pandora software aims to provide an automated approach to reconstruct what happened in neutrino intera…

Athena Swan Silver Award Institute of Physics Juno Champion

The Welfare and Communication Group (WCG) works to promote good working practices and gender equality in Physics.