Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

MHD Coronal Seismology 2020: Twenty Years of Probing the Sun’s Corona with MHD Waves

Poster design: D. Y. Kolotkov & C. E. Pugh. Background image:

Poster design: D. Y. Kolotkov & C. E. Pugh. Background image: NASA. The images of the dishes of the Nobeyama Radioheliograph (NAOJ, Nagoya University, and ICCON) are used with permission.


Since the discovery of magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) wave processes in the corona of the Sun at the beginning of the era of spatially and temporally resolving multi-band telescopes, coronal seismology has become widely accepted as a highly powerful technique for probing the physical conditions in the Sun’s corona (see e.g a global road map for 2015-2025 commissioned by COSPAR and ILWS, and the most recent comprehensive review of MHD waves in the corona). This international 4-day online conference is intended to mark the 20-year milestone since the publication of the pioneering paper on the application of coronal seismology for probing the coronal magnetic field. The conference is also held in honour of Prof Nakariakov's 55th birthday, with particular emphasis on the various aspects of coronal seismology that he made a special contribution to. Standing at the origin of this research field, Prof Nakariakov has established strong scientific links and collaborations in the UK and worldwide, and trained a new generation of young and actively working solar physicists, thus seeding a solid ground for the further development of coronal seismology with MHD waves in particular and highly influencing solar physics in general. The conference will include invited talks of 25 min given by the UK and international researchers who used to be either PhD students or postdocs of Prof Nakariakov at some stage of their academic career, and also by his close collaborators and those with close scientific connections to Prof. Nakariakov. The conference also warmly welcomes 20-min contributed talks from researchers working either directly on coronal seismology or in closely related areas. We shall also consider arranging online poster sessions and a few minutes oral poster presentations, depending on the number of registered participants. Please kindly email your intention to participate and (tentative) abstracts to using the following form:






Your time zone during the conference:

A publication of a Topical Collection of the journal Solar Physics with the new results following the conference will be considered. Please send your intensions to contribute into it and tentative titles of your original contributions to the above-mentioned email address.

Format and important dates:

The deadline for sending in the abstracts is 30th November. The conference will be held online via MS Teams or Zoom (email or for more details) from 8th Dec to 11th Dec 2020, split into 4 days with one 5-hour meeting a day with breaks for breakfast/lunch/dinner. The specific time slots will be chosen to account for the difference in the time zones of the speakers.

Preliminary research topics to address (can be adjusted in accord with the list of registered abstracts):

  1. Kink and sausage oscillations and waves in the corona
  2. Slow magnetoacoustic waves in coronal loops
  3. MHD waves in open coronal structures
  4. Novel techniques of data analysis in coronal seismology
  5. Multi-wavelength observations (from radio to gamma-rays) and modelling of quasi-periodic pulsations in solar and stellar flares
  6. Thermodynamic activity of the corona and implications of MHD waves for coronal heating
  7. Nonlinear effects of coronal MHD waves: observational manifestations and theoretical modelling
  8. Coronal MHD waves and magnetic reconnection in the solar atmosphere
  9. Interaction of coronal MHD waves with a lower solar atmosphere

Invited speakers:

  1. Patrick Antolin (Northumbria University, UK)
  2. Dipankar Banerjee (Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, India)
  3. Anne-Marie Broomhall (University of Warwick, UK)
  4. Kyungsuk Cho (Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute, South Korea)
  5. Il-Hyun Cho (Kyung Hee University, South Korea)
  6. Andrea Costa (Instituto de Astronomía Teórica y Experimental, Argentina)
  7. Ineke De Moortel (University of St Andrews, UK)
  8. Marcel Goossens (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  9. Andrew Inglis (NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center, USA)
  10. Rekha Jain (University of Sheffield, UK)
  11. Elena Kupriyanova (Pulkovo Observatory of RAS, Russia)
  12. Igor Lopin (Institute of Applied Astronomy of RAS, Russia)
  13. Norbert Magyar (University of Warwick, UK)
  14. James McLaughlin (Northumbria University, UK)
  15. Leon Ofman (CUA and NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center, USA)
  16. David Pascoe (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  17. Michael Ruderman (University of Sheffield, UK)
  18. Yuandeng Shen (Yunnan Observatories, China)
  19. Abhishek Kumar Srivastava (Indian Institute of Technology BHU, India)
  20. Hui Tian (Peking University, China)
  21. Soheil Vasheghani Farahani (Tafresh University, Iran)
  22. Gary Verth (University of Sheffield, UK)
  23. Tongjiang Wang (CUA and NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center, USA)
  24. Ding Yuan (Harbin Institute of Technology in Shenzhen, China)
  25. Teimuraz Zaqarashvili (University of Graz, Austria)
  26. Dmitrii Zavershinskii (Samara National Research University, Russia)
  27. Qingmin Zhang (Purple Mountain Observatory CAS, China)
  28. Ivan Zimovets (Space Research Institute of RAS, Russia)

📅 Important dates:

Registration open: 26 Oct 2020
Registration close: 30 Nov 2020
Conference dates: 8-11 Dec 2020

🚦NO registration fees for all participants, as the conference will be held online.

⚙️ SOC:

D. Kolotkov (Warwick, UK, Chair)
B. Li (Weihai, China, co-Chair)
S. Anfinogentov (ISTP, Russia)
K. Murawski (UMCS, Poland)
G. Nistico (Calabria, Italy)
D. Tsiklauri (QMUL, UK)
T. Van Doorsselaere (KU Leuven, Belgium)

📨 Contacts:

Please email your queries to
(Dmitrii Kolotkov) or (Bo Li).