Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Registration for APTS

Student registration for APTS academic year 2023-24 opens on Friday 22nd September 2023, and closes on Friday 27th October 2023. Registration applications made after that date will be kept in a priority-ordered reserve list, in case of any cancellations.

Students can only be registered for APTS weeks by their "sending institution" (i.e., their home department): a list of these institutions appears below.

  • If your department wishes to register as a sending institution, then please click here;
  • If your department wishes to commit to being a full Member Institution of APTS, then please click here.
    (All Member Institutions are automatically "sending institutions")

If your department is included in the list below, the APTS contact (who must be a member of academic staff employed by that institution) will be provided with a password enabling them to complete the student registration form for 2023-24 APTS weeks. (The student registration form also gives full information on cost.)

The principles and practicalities of student registration and payments include:

  • date of application within the registration period is unimportant --- it is not used in determining the allocation of APTS places to students (see the APTS Constitution for the list of priorities)
  • sending institutions are invoiced by APTS for the registration fee, and for accommodation/meal costs, of their students who are allocated APTS places
  • in the case of a student taking all four APTS weeks in the same academic year a 20% rebate of registration fees (20% of 4 x £170) is made
  • all financial transactions with individual APTS students, including those relating to travel expenses, are handled by the sending institution

Please see the FAQ, the Billing and Cancellation policy, and the Privacy notice for more specific information, and the list of prerequisites if you are in any doubt as to whether APTS would be suitable for a particular student.

List of sending institutions

APTS contact

Aarhus University: Department of Mathematics Asger Hobolth
Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland Glenn Marion
Canterbury Christ Church University: The Business School Prodromos Tsinaslanidis
Cardiff University: School of Mathematics Anatoly Zhigljavsky
Durham University: Dept of Mathematical Sciences Georgios Karagiannis
European Molecular Biology Laboratory: European Bioinformatics Institute Nick Goldman
Heriot-Watt University: School of Mathematical and Computer sciences George Streftaris
Keele University: School of Computing and Mathematics Jie Cheng
Keele University: School of Medicine Ivonne Solis-Trapala
Lancaster University: Department of Management Science Matthias Ehrgott
Lancaster University: Dept of Maths and Statistics Lloyd Chapman
Lancaster University: School of Health and Medicine Benjamin Taylor
Lancaster University: STOR-i CDT Jonathan Tawn
London School of Economics and Political Science: Department of Statistics Yining Chen
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Ruth Keogh
Loughborough University: Department of Mathematical Sciences Axel Finke
Loughborough University: School of Business and Economics Nikos Argyris
Maynooth University: Department of Mathematics and Statistics Andrew Parnell
Newcastle University: Dept of Mathematics and Statistics Jere Koskela
Northumbria University: Department of Mathematics and Information Sciences Pete Philipson
Nottingham Trent University: Department of Mathematics and Statistics Golnaz Shahtahmassebi
Open University: Dept of Mathematics and Statistics Kaustubh Adhikari
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland: Data Science Center Fiona Boland
The Francis Crick Institute Peter Van Loo
The Institute of Cancer Research Tara Thorneycroft
Trinity College Dublin: Statistics Group Simon Wilson
University College Cork: School of Mathematical Sciences Eric Wolsztymski
University College Dublin: Statistics Group Brendan Murphy
University College London: Dept of Statistical Science Terry Soo
University of Bath: Dept of Mathematical Sciences Simon Shaw
University of Birmingham: School of Mathematics Biman Chakraborty
University of Bologna: Department of Statistical Sciences Angela Montanari
University of Bristol: Dept of Mathematics-Statistics Group Mathieu Gerber
University of Bristol: School of Earth Sciences Max Werner
University of Bristol: School of Geographical Sciences Levi John Wolf
University of Cambridge: CRI John Marioni
University of Cambridge: MRC Biostatistics Unit Brian Tom
University of Cambridge: Statistical Laboratory Sergio Bacallado
University of Cape Town: Department of Statistical Sciences Freedom Gumedze
University of Edinburgh: MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine Catalina Vallejos Meneses
University of Edinburgh: School of Mathematics Finn Lindgren
University of Essex: School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science Vasileios Giagos
University of Exeter: College of Eng Maths and Phys Sci Chris Ferro
University of Galway: School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences Andrew Simpkin
University of Glasgow: Statistics Nema Dean
University of Kent: IMSAS Jian Zhang
University of Leeds: Dept of Statistics Jan Palczewski
University of Leeds: Institute of Clinical Trials Research Deborah Stocken
University of Limerick: Dept of Mathematics and Statistics Peg Hanrahan
University of Liverpool: Department of Biostatistics David Hughes
University of Liverpool: Dept of Mathematical Sciences Kamila Zychaluk
University of Manchester: Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences Olatunji Johnson
University of Manchester: School of Mathematics Olatunji Johnson
University of Nottingham: School of Mathematical Sciences Riccardo Corradin
University of Oxford, MRC Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine Valentina Iotchkova
University of Oxford: Department of Computer Science Jim Davies
University of Oxford: Dept of Statistics Garrett Morris
University of Oxford: Nuffield Department of Population Health Thomas Nichols
University of Oxford: Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics Julian Knight
University of Plymouth: School of Engineering, Computing and Mathematics Julian Stander
University of Reading: Department of Mathematics and Statistics Fazil Baksh
University of Reading: Department of Meteorology Ted Shepherd
University of Sheffield: Health Economics and Decision Science (HEDS) Jean Hamilton
University of Sheffield: School of Mathematics and Statistics Istvan Ballai
University of Southampton: School of Mathematics Jon Cockayne
University of Southampton: School of Social Sciences Peter Smith
University of St Andrews: School of Maths and Statistics Len Thomas
University of Strathclyde: Department of Mathematics and Statistics David Pritchard
University of Surrey: Dept of Mathematics Janet Godolphin
University of Warwick: Dept of Statistics Anastasia Papavasileiou
University of Warwick: Warwick Medical School Deepak Parashar
University of Wolverhampton: Statistical Cybermetrics Research Group Paul Wilson
University of York: Department of Mathematics Stephen Connor


Contact APTS