Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Economic History of Developing Regions Virtual Seminar

Header image for article

Economic History of Developing Regions Virtual Seminar

Seminars will consist of a 20 minute presentation, followed by 20 minutes of questions. This is a collaborative effort with the editors of Economic History of Developing Regions and with the Economic History Society of Southern Africa.

If you would like to be on our email list or if there are potential speakers you wish to recommend to us, please email James Fenske (j.fenske@warwick.ac.uk).

An up to date schedule of speakers is here: http://www.ehssa.org.za/index.php/workshops-and-conferences/

May

 

Wednesday 13th May
Times: 22.00 CST (15:00 London, 10:00 New York)

Cong Liu (Jinan University)
'The Art of Governing: Nomads, Elites, and the Provision of Public Goods in China, 1738-1820'

Thursday 28th May
Times: 9.00 CDT (15:00 London, 10:00 New York)
 Luz Marina Arias (CIDE, Mexico City)
'The Long Run Economic Spillovers of Land Inequality'

June

 
Thursday 11th June
Times: 16.00 SAST (15:00 London, 10:00 New York)

Carolyn Chisadza (University of Pretoria)
'Racial bias in peer evaluations'

Thursday 25th June
Times: 19.30 IST (15:00 London, 10:00 New York)
Chinmay Tumbe (IIM Ahmedabad)
'Title: TBA'
July  
Thursday 23th July
Times: 11:00 BST (15:00 London, 10:00 New York)
Guilherme Lambais (University of Brasilia)
'Title: Slave resistance, cultural transmission, and Brazil’s long-run economic development'

August  
Thursday 6th August
Times: 11:00 SAST (15:00 London, 10:00 New York)
Calumet Links (Stellenbosch University)
'Title: Coerced indigenous labour and effort in pastoral agriculture: lessons learnt from the nineteenth century Cape frontier'
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84941782039
September  
Thursday 24th September
Times: 7pm IST (14:30pm London, 09:30am New York)
Tarun Jain (Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad)
'Title: Women’s Labor Force Participation and Household Technology Adoption'
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86090320918
October  
Wednesday 7th October
Times: 9pm TST (15:00pm London, 10:00am New York)
Jessica Vechbanyongratana (Chulalongkorn University)
'Title: Reform, Rails, and Rice: Thailand’s Political Railroads and Economic Development in the 20th Century'
Zoom link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83405630723
Thursday 22nd October
Times: 1pm BST (17:00pm London, noon New York
Leonardo Weller (Fundação Getulio Vargas, São Paulo School of Economics)
'Title: Polity, Coffee, and Bananas: Democracy, Autocracy, and Sovereign Debt Default in Costa Rica and Nicaragua, 1871-1911'
Zoom link: TBC