Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Nobel prize for Warwick Economics alumnus

Header image for article

Nobel prize for Warwick Economics alumnus

Warwick alumnus and honorary graduate Professor Oliver Hart (MA Economics 1969-72), along with Professor Bengt Holmström of MIT, have been announced as the 2016 winners of the Nobel Prize for Economics.

The pair have been honoured for their contribution to contract theory. Professor Hart is an expert on contract theory, theory of the firm, corporate finance, and law and economics. His research centres on the roles that ownership structure and contractual arrangements play in the governance and boundaries of corporations.

The University awarded Professor Hart an honorary degree in 2012. Hear from him in our podcast interview recorded at the time:

Professor Hart is Andrew E. Furer Professor of Economics at Harvard University and an Honorary Professor in Warwick’s Department of Economics. Born in Britain, he gained a BA in Mathematics at King's College, Cambridge in 1969, an MA in Economics at Warwick in 1972, and a PhD in Economics at Princeton University in 1974.

Learn more about the award on the Nobel website