Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Ordinance 8: Degrees, Diplomas and Certificates

The University may confer either solely or jointly, the following degrees, diplomas and certificates:

Bachelor of Arts (BA)

Bachelor of Arts and Science (BASc)

Bachelor of Education (BEd)

Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)

Bachelor of Laws (LLB)

Bachelor of Philosophy in Education (BPhil (Ed))

Bachelor of Science (BSc)

Bachelor of Medical Science (BMedSci)

Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB)

Diploma in Engineering (DiplEng)

Master of Advanced Study (M.A.St.)

Master of Arts (MA)

Master of Arts and Science (MASc)

Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Master of Biological Sciences (MBio)

Master of Chemistry (MChem)

Master of Clinical Sciences (MClinSci)

Master of Education (MEd)

Master of Engineering (MEng)

Master of Fine Arts (MFA)

Master of History (MHist)

Master of Languages (MLang)

Master of Laws (LLM)

Master of Mathematics (MMath)

Master of Mathematics and Statistics (MMath Stat)

Master of Mathematics, Operational Research, Statistics and Economics (MMORSE)

Master of Medical Education (MMedEd)

Master of Medical Science (MMedSci)

Master of Philosophy (MPhil)

Master of Physics (MPhys)

Master of Public Administration (MPA)

Master of Public Health (MPH)

Master of Research (MRes)

Master of Science (MSc)

Master of Science (MS)

Master of Science (MSci)

Master in Teaching and Learning (MTL)

Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)

Doctor of Clinical Psychology (DClinPsych)

Doctor of Education (EdD)

Doctor of Engineering (EngD)

Doctor of Laws (LLD)

Doctor of Letters (DLitt)

Doctor of Medicine (MD)

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

European Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Doctor of Science (DSc)


Post-Experience Diploma (PExDip)

Advanced Diploma

Postgraduate Diploma (PGDip)

Graduate Diploma

Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE)


Post-Experience Certificate (PExCert)

Postgraduate Certificate (PGCert)

Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)

Professional (Graduate) Certificate in Education

Certificate of Higher Education (CertHE)

Foundation Degree in Arts (FdA)

Foundation Degree in Science (FdSc)

Postgraduate Award (PGA)

The University may confer either solely or jointly the following posthumous awards:

Institutional Bachelors Award

Institutional Integrated Masters Award

Institutional Masters Award