Skip to main content Skip to navigation

1.7 The Council and its Committees

The Council

Membership 2015-2016

Ex Officio Members


The Pro-Chancellor(s)

Chair: Sir George Cox
Vice Chair: Ms Viki Cooke (2019)

The Vice-Chancellor

Professor Stuart Croft

The Treasurer

Mr Keith Bedell-Pearce

The Provost

Professor Tim Jones

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors

Professor Christina Hughes



Appointed members


Up to four academic members of the Senate, appointed by the Senate:

Professor Aileen Clarke (2018)
Professor Christopher Hughes (2016)
Professor Abhinay Muthoo (2017)
Professor Peter Winstanley (2016)

One member of the non-academic staff of the University appointed by the Senate:

Mr Alan Rivett (2016)


Lay Members


Such other persons not being members of the academic staff or salaried officers or students of the University and not exceeding twelve in all, as may be appointed by the Council:

Dr Neil Bentley (2018)
Dame Fiona Caldicott (2016)
Dr John Ferrie (2017)
Ms Kamini Gadhok (2018)
Dr Deborah Keith (2018)
Ms Joan MacNaughton (2017)
Sir David Normington (2017)
Mr Adrian Penfold (2019)
Mr Neil Sachdev (2018)
Mr Martin Temple (2016)



Student Members


The President of the Union of Students

Mr Isaac Leigh (2016)

One student elected by the Union of Students

Mr Olly Rice (2016)


(The year in brackets after the member's name indicates the year in which their appointment expires)

Council Committees